We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Farnborough in Hampshire is not necessarily the place where you look for a stylish high end hotel and fine dining. However - how wrong can one be - this hotel oozes style - picking up the theme of aviation and giving it a luxurious and contemorary edge. It is worth visiting just to have a look at the architecture of the central staircase, which rules the foyer - stunning. I love the detail in the lifts, which are clad in croc leather and feature an airplane porthole - showing the sky - fabulous attention to detail - and underlines the whole theme of the location.
The rooms are furnished to a very high standard and the Sky Suite is simply superb with oodles of room, walk in closet and a huge bathroom with seperate shower. Beautiful touches of objets d'art.
The staff was very helpful and discreet. Only one minor critisism - I could not dock my Ipod in the suite and presume this will be the same in all of the other rooms. And - just sometimes - you can hear a plane lading or taking off - after all - the stylish Sky Bar overlooks the runway of Farnborough Airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,758 - 1,764 of 2,079 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Out in Farnborough, it delivers the same type of class, quality, comfort and modern design that is associated with high end hotels in London.

My room was excellent. It was big, and stylish, with a desk and sofa. Very comfortable and quite too. Bathroom was also big. New and modern on design with its tiles, granite wall and rain top shower.

If you take a morning flight from the US to London and then have to be in Farnborough, you will be hungry for dinner. The Aviator has 2 Indian restaurants that are a 5 minute walk away. I was with colleagues of mine and we ordered from Paprika. We ordered take out, a lot of it! For this, they gave us a free bottle of wine. They also have Kingfisher on tap!

The Aviator allowed us to eat in their common area and also offered us plates, cutlery and wine glasses. Most hotels scoff at this, but not the Aviator. I will stay here again on my next business trip to Farnborough.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCulotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Aviator is an astonishing surprise. Halfway between Farnborough and Aldershot, on the edge of Farnborough airfield (a business airport, so don't think Heathrow jumbos and night flights), this hotel couldn't be more unlikely. One of the most stylish hotels I've ever stayed in, superb staff and glorious rooms. Complimentary wifi and movies help with the fact it's not in one of the nearby town centres.

Didn't have chance, or the funds to sample the restaurant - though it looks superb, it's sadly out of my expense budget. There are a few restaurants in walking distance however.

It's not a cheap option but their weekend packages would tempt me back to the area I've only ever considered for work.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

In the middle of a two week stay and so far so great! The staff has been very accommodating to me and my disabled wife. The hotel is very comfortable and the food has been very good! But most of all the staff has been great, very friendly and personable! The Sky Bar is also relaxing and friendly, great drinks!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank X_Navy_Chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Aviator, great value with the Mr and Mrs Smith deal...definitely treat yourself and stay in one of the sky suites. Spent a couple of nights here with my boyfriend, relaxing in our gorgeous room, watching the free movies and enjoying the free soft drink mini bar...great turndown service with candles and nice lighting. Very nice touch with strawberries and chocolate and a card when we first arrived in the room. Very comfy bed, brilliant sound system...loved the random ornaments around the room and the Missoni blanket!

Couple of down points:

Only had one meal, room service which was a very poorly cooked burger that cost £23 in total...bought a picnic and had it in our room the next night!

Breakfast in the restaurant was a bit of a mess, terrible service (yet very friendly!) buffet was always nearly empty, had to ask for a plate as they had run out! Practically had to beg for coffee, food dropped all over the floor by a child and took them about 10 minutes to notice it and clean it up...orange juice dispenser always empty...had to constantly ask for items that were missing off the table...

Not much outside of the hotel but a wonderful place to have a couple of nights away somewhere rather special (much better value than London!!)

Room Tip: Treat yourself and go for a suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ch11111122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Lunch in The Brasserie (very stylish, modern restaurant), with far reaching views out over the aerodrome, was a pleasure.

My companion was delighted at the vegetarian options and found it hard to choose! Both the salad starters (goats cheese & pomegranate and poached pear with blue cheese & walnut) were delicious; the Hampshire rump steak of particular note, as this cut of steak is often very poor, but this was delicious, and the grapefruit posset with cardamom cream exceedingly enjoyable.

Service was very good and unobtrusive. Look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evyRomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Aviator is virtually next door to the privately owned Farnborough airport, so it's the kind of place you stay the night before catching a flight out the next day. Well, that was the case with me. And I am sure this place must be full up for the Farnborough air show, which is quite a popular global event. So you can imagine the crowds in this sleepy little town...

The Aviator, with a name like that, could have been more aviation-centric. For instance, the bare corridors could have reproductions of classic aviation posters or other memorabilia. So if you are expecting the romance of aviation, it comes to you in small doses... Like in the room for instance, which has some nice black and white prints.

The hotel is modern looking, in fact, it looks a bit futuristic. Inside the central staircase area evokes more an art deco luxury liner - were Zeppelins like them inside? Anyway, the check-in was efficiently done and my room unfortunately overlooked the road in front of the hotel and not the airport. The room was quite nice and well arranged giving the feeling of space and airiness. The windows were covered by wooden venetian blinds - they are nice, but I usually twist them and make a mess of them generally. The bed is large too and cosy. The colours and textures of the room are warm and inviting and it looks like a place you could shack up for a couple of days.

The restaurant that also serves as the breakfast area has pictures of Hollywood stars of yesteryears for some reason. I thought an aviation theme would have been more interesting. Service at dinner was good and so was breakfast. The spread for dinner was quite good and my vegetarian meal was not bad either. Breakfast is passably okay, though you could ask the kitchen to make eggs the way you want.

The Aviator is a small hotel. Its plus point is its room. And it must be fully booked during the air show - its location is its piece de resistance.

Room Tip: Look for one that faces Farnborough airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srinik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#5 of 7 in Farnborough
1,622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
671 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,499 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
5.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel Hampshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel Hampshire

Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range: $122 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel Hampshire 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut panelling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aviator Hotel Hampshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing