We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very well situated nice old house.”
other travelers have booked this property
Large sitting room with comfortable seating for 6 people
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large sitting room with comfortable seating for 6 people
The cottage - a hidden surprise inside!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Large sitting room with comfortable seating for 6 people
The cottage - a hidden surprise inside!
Well equipped kitchen with washing machine, dishwasher, fridge freezer and large range cooker
Beautiful kitchen with range cooker leading to the walled garden
Beautiful well-equipped kitchen - all you could need for your stay
Good sized dining room with seating for 6 overlooking the walled garden
Master bedroom with king size bed overlooking the walled garden
Bedroom 2 - double bed overlooking High Street
Bedroom 2 - with twin beds overlooking Fareham High Street
Walled garden - ideal place to enjoy the warmer days and evenings.
Views over Fareham Creek
Yachts moored in nearby Hamble
Fareham High Street
Fareham High Street very early one morning with cottage on the left
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fareham, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eric S
Berlaar - Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very well situated nice old house.”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very nice and cosy old house. It has all the comfort you need. When we came in, the refrigerator didn't work but a replacement was quickly brought in. Please note that here and there the ceilings and other conveniences like the shower are not intended for large size people like myself (2 m.) - so mind your head. Good location for shopping. Free parking (during the night) is a 2 minutes walk away. Very clean.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2017
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review for us. We are sorry you had a problem with the refrigerator and that has now been replaced. Your comments have been well received regarding ceiling heights but we think the folk were a lot shorter in the 16th century. The beams and other features are lovely but don't provide a great deal of headroom for tall people. Really hope that wouldn't stop you visiting again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AW36
Ross on Wye
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A delightful, homely, characterful cottage!”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I stayed here in December 2015 with members of my family so that we could be close to my sister's house in Fareham for the Christmas holidays, and we were so pleased that we found it as it was a true 'home from home'.

Altought we didin't spend an enormous amount of time there (as we were mostly at my sister's during the day), we found the cottage to be absolutely beautiful and a real little haven to come into from the High Street, with everything you could possibly want for a comfortable stay.

It was packed with character and clean and tidy throughout, with lovely crisp white bed linen, and whilst very much a traditional cottage, it was spacious enough for six people and a small dog to live very comfortably together without being on top of each other.

With regards to parking, whilst the cottage does not have its own space at the property itself, we found that we were easily able to pull up and unload with our hazzard lights on, and then move the car to the free allocated space at an Art Centre close by.

Just one very small observation that we felt would have made it even more magical would have been the additon perhaps of a few Christmas decorations as I have always found this to be a lovely touch in other places that we have stayed during the holidays, but that certainly didn't take away from our experience.

I would wholeheartedly recommend the Old Bakery to anyone, and my sister was pleased to have discovered it too for future large party guests.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback - all much appreciated. We always hope the cottage provides guests with as much a home from home as is possible and you point regarding Christmas decs is noted and we will see what we can do to accommodate that should the cottage be let out over the Christmas period again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our stay at the old bakery was extremely enjoyable, the cottage is full of character, and very spacious, all the rooms are of a good size, very clean and very comfortable, and having two bathrooms is a big plus! The kitchen and dining room are well equipped and great for families and if you are entertaining guests during your stay as we did. The location is perfect, close to the town centre but quiet enough not to notice, there are some very nice restaurants and pubs within a few minutes walking distance. All in all a brilliant place to stay.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. Always a great pleasure to know that people enjoy what we provide for them. Hope to welcome you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debe98
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice place high quality”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Nice cottage. Great large bedrooms, good kitchen. Nothing to fault the cottage. There's no parking but you offered a space at a car park up the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and general cleanliness and completeness.
Liked least: low ceiling, a bit annoying to park up the road and wish it was a bit cheaper but probably in line with market
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
We are so happy that the cottage was as you expected and you couldn't find fault with it - we aim high and it is great to hear we achieve this. The parking can be a problem which is why we offer free off road parking for your car just around 50 metres from the cottage. Thank you for the feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayrz
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage in the hub of Fareham”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed in this delightful property with my Mum, Uncle and my dog. Although the stairs were a bit of a challenge to my elderly relatives, this was the only drawback to staying at the cottage. The kitchen cupboards are bursting with everything you could ask for and the built in appliances including a dishwasher, are all in working order. The large television in the living area is actually inside the mirror on the wall, which I thought was a really cool idea. The 3 bedrooms are all beautiful with comfy beds are plenty of drawers and hanging space for your clothes. There is 2 toilets, one with a walk in shower and the other with a descent sized bath. The garden is a sun trap with a delightful garden to enjoy. The shopping centre is 10 min walk and the super market is a 5 min drive. Everything you need is basically on the door step. We found it to be an ideal base, venturing to The New Forest, South Hampton and Lee on Solent. Jayne and Bob are happy to help and both wonderful as is this gem of an old building that has been tastefully modernised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well stocked kitchen.
Liked least: The parking. Although it is free which is great, it is a 5min walk from the property.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgwagner4
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Cool and Quirky”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We used this home as our base of operations for checking out the area. It is in a great location to make trips into Portsmouth, South Hampton and the New Forest, Salisbury and Hayling Island (all of which we did). It was neat to stay in a piece of history while checking our sites such as Portchester Castle.

While the house is quite old it has all the comforts one could want. The kitchen is well stocked with everything needed to prepare elaborate meals. The beds where comfortable and the small garden is great to relax in.

The stairs are a bit odd and the ceiling is low in areas, but both are easily dealt with and it is these things that give the house much of its character.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen
Liked least: Bathrooms are a bit cramped
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, excellent accomodation.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Having arrived tired with daughter, partner and 3 grandchildren, after visiting Peppa Pig, it was just great to have everything we needed in place. Jayne was wonderful, nothing too much trouble. Lovely cottage, very cosy and clean. Ate on the Patio all the time, beautifully sunny for the evening meal. Local supermarket walkable, restaurants,take-ways close by. Easy to get to Portsmouth, cheap parking in Wickham St. near Dockyard, plenty for little ones at Southsea and FREE. Will stay again, Fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and cleanliness of cotage
Liked least: Having to go home!!!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing