We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Italia !”
Review of Villa Romana

Villa Romana
Ranked #1 of 163 Restaurants in Fareham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $65
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Fareham’s Villa Romana rustic and contemporary combine to create an authentic Italian dining experience with a splash of olde worlde English thrown in to the mix. This centrally located, 18th century coach house oozes character with exposed brick and beams.The ideal setting for a romantic evening or stylish dinner with friends. Villa Romana is using fresh local ingredients, the Chefs produce an excellent combination of classically traditional and inspirational new dishes to whet the palate of any Italian food fanatic.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Viva Italia !”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Myself and my partner went here for a birthday celebration , great ambience , really has that italian feel to it , both of our meals were perfect , really enjoyed the whole experience , would go back .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trugossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    99
    40
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always spot on”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Have been coming here for over 10 years now! Service & food is always of a very high standard. Owners are very welcoming and always happy to have a chat if they have a spare few minutes at the table, great value for money and food is always to the same high standard.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deebees62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very slow service ruins an evening”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Six of us dined here last night on a Tuesday, having booked a table. Service was very very slow - we arrived at 7.20pm and were served our starters at 8.30pm. Our main course then arrived at 9.15 pm - having said that the food was very good indeed, just ruined by not having enough waiters on for a busy week night. After we had finished our mains we dared not order a pudding - as we could not wait any more. We went home. I asked for the 10percent service charge to be removed from our bill. It seems that there was a large table of 14 people - (some of whom arrived very late) that were served well before us and this was what I think put a spanner in the works. Actually I think everybody in the restaurant was served before us. Somebody came out from the kitchen I think - although not sure if he was chef as he was dressed all in black and gave us a half hearted apology and explained that it was because every dish was cooked from scratch - not good enough I am afraid. I would not visit again ---
Could not recommend it as the evening was spoilt by very poor service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holidaywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous meal, as always!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Had a fabulous meal, as always. Love the food, the atmosphere, and everything about Villa Romana. The food is always excellent and well worth the money. Some might say it is expensive, but you get what you pay for, so it's worth every penny!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Car0lW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The best Italian in Fareham”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My other half and I went here to celebrate my birthday towards the end of February and although I have been here many times (and it is always wonderful) it was his first time. The food was lovely as always and the service was great and very helpful. This is one of my favourite Italian restaurants (I live in Bristol now and it beats pretty much all of them!). The dishes were all cooked perfectly and all steaming hot when they got to the table. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone and the it's not bad value either (as we got two big mains, a dessert to share, 3 drinks (one alcoholic), a pre starter and a shot of amaretto each) for about £45 including a tip!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r_dunmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Romana also viewed

Fareham, Hampshire
 

Been to Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing