We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Meal as Always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Romana

Villa Romana
Ranked #1 of 162 Restaurants in Fareham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Fareham’s Villa Romana rustic and contemporary combine to create an authentic Italian dining experience with a splash of olde worlde English thrown in to the mix. This centrally located, 18th century coach house oozes character with exposed brick and beams.The ideal setting for a romantic evening or stylish dinner with friends. Villa Romana is using fresh local ingredients, the Chefs produce an excellent combination of classically traditional and inspirational new dishes to whet the palate of any Italian food fanatic.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal as Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Big thank you to all the staff at Villa Romana. The food was excellent, the staff attentive and the wine great value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Griffin1496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    91
    36
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food & service! A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a lovely meal here. I have been before with my girlfriends for a birthday & with my partner tonight, both times the food has been out standing and the service second to none. One of the girls can only have gluten free & 95% off the menu can be adapted if you pre order. The food is all made from stratch - the Gnoocci is amazing!!!! Waiting staff were very attentive but not over the top. The price is reasonable aswell, £82 for a 3 course meal & two bottles of wine is very good!

Villa romana is now a firm favourite of ours. Keep up the good work.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shoegal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Another wonderful meal at the best restaurant in Fareham. My GAMBERONI E CALAMARI FRITTI was amazing. Beautifully crisp battered squid and tiger prawns which were soft and scrumptious inside. Fantastic portion sizes. Not sure what previous contributors problems were... Service was excellent as usual and very good value for money. Premium food.

Helpful?
Thank macca163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“expensive and awful !!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Visited this restaurant last weekend, with our friends and we where utterly disappointed. To begin with, when booked, I asked if we could be seated downstairs but we where seated upstairs. Starters took ages to be served and when they finally arrived the mushrooms where cold !!
For mains the fillet steaks where over cooked and pasta was bland with no taste. Desserts where OK but you can buy better from supermarkets. Service was acceptable but we felt more could be done, especially after we told the waiter about our food.The bill was really expensive compared to what we had. An evening ruined and expensive !!!

I suggest that if you want to visit this place, be prepared to be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john_mills54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaromanaltd, Owner at Villa Romana, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We always take into consideration where people would like to sit but unfortunately this is not always possible.
I'm sorry to learn through this review that the meal was not to your liking but if you would have told a member of the staff we could have changed your dishes with something else.
We pride ourselves on providing very high standard of service and customer satisfaction and if we had of known at the time with would have fix it to your satisfaction.
We believe our prices are competitive and our homemade desserts are always regarded very highly by our clientele.

Please contact us if you would like to discuss this matter further

Thank you

Regards
Maurizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good service, Dissapointed with Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

As a frequent customer, size of main pasta meals has reduced considerable and price has increased. We was very disappointed with the sweets as well as we asked for a creme brûlée and received a custard tart instead. So all in all it was a very disappointing evening.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank breaks40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaromanaltd, Owner at Villa Romana, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to address this review. Our main course portions of pasta have not changed in size at all, we have many customers that ask for a doggy bag to take what they can't finish home with them. The menu states that the dessert is a creme brûlée torte, which is different and unique to a standard creme brûlée. If you would to follow this up please contact the restaurant.

Thank you

Maurizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Romana also viewed

Fareham, Hampshire
 

Been to Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing