We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“practical and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Certificate of Excellence
East Anglia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“practical and comfortable”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

There is no glamour to this small hotel, but it provides everything needed, to a good standard. It is situated on a very busy road, about eight minutes walk from the railway station- I had a ground floor room at an angle to the road and could hear the traffic but it did not disturb my sleep. There was plenty of car parking.

The bedroom was very plain, a reasonable size, and the bed extremely comfortable. There were a couple of wicker easy chairs and a generous hospitality tray. The bathroom, clean and plain, provided a bath with shower over, basin and toilet.
The staff were splendid, very helpful and friendly. They were a bit overwhelmed at breakfast ( I was told last breakfast serving was at 8.45 when I checked in), which is served in a pleasant conservatory. This could be a problem for someone on a tight schedule, though they were doing their best to keep up. The breakfast was very good.
Echoing its name, this is a very practical and comfortable 'travelrest'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin Goodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    64
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
59
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night as we were catching the ferry the next day. We were welcomed in reception by Judith who was very friendly and helpful in explaining where everything was and the breakfast times. We were in room 27 which was in a peaceful location and of a good size. The bed was confortable but , and these are only minor things, we thought the light fittings on the ceiling were rather old and basic and didn,t do the room justice, also like most places now it could benefit from some more electricity sockets as most people now have smartphones,tablets and laptops,sadly the WIFI reception was quite poor. As we are now at that age when our eyesight isnt as good as it was we had a job to see the tv especially the writing if any came on the screen so we think the room would benefit from a bit bigger tv. Tea and coffee facilities were provided as were biscuits and if you run out reception quickly replaced. A room service menu is provided and again Judith on reception was multitasking and cooked us a lovely good value meal which was delicious. We had a wonderful nights sleep and once again hardworking Judith welcomed us to the lovely conservatory dining area where a large choice of hot and cold items were available. The cooked breakfast was piping hot and cooked to order, again it was delicious. We would definately stay here again and highly recommend it. Stephen & Carol Packer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dillon2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here with my two children following a visit to Southampton by train. We chose this hotel as it was close to the station, and was so much less expensive than the hotels in central Southampton. It was lucky that my wife was away elsewhere on business, as the family rooms are only for three, consisting of a double and a single. The hotel appears to have started life as a large house, and so is not the usual cookie cutter budget hotel format. The rooms are fairly small, and plain, but do the job. There is a flat screen TV on the wall, tea and coffee making facilities, and a perfectly adequate en-suite bathroom. The restaurant was only offering a limited room service menu on the evening of our visit, but there is a Harvester a couple of minutes walk away, and the town centre is just a 10 to 15 minute walk. We had a room at the back of the hotel, but there was still some road noise from the A27, on which it is located.
The beds were comfortable, probably the best hotel beds I've been on for a long time. the staff on duty were friendly, although they did ask for payment up front, as mentioned in a previous review. I guess though that this is no different from pre-paying for a room, as you do with other budget hotel operators. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but it is served in a conservatory overlooking the garden.

Room Tip: Probably less road noise in the rear facing rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TicehurstDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was clean, the breakfast excellent, and perfect for just a couple of nights. The double room was quite small, but as we were only there for 2 nights it was perfect for what we needed, any longer and we might have struggled. The bathroom was very clean, and lovely fluffy towels. The only issue was the noise as all the rooms are very close together and at the top of the main staircase so you could hear everyone arriving or leaving, but as it was a small hotel, the people staying were not likely to cause lots of late night noise, and by 11pm each night it was very quiet. A perfect location for getting into Portsmouth, and very quiet even though it was on a main road. Would recommend for just a weekend break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here on the 25th of August only for one night and found the room pleasant , clean and tidy as was the bathroom , id say the room was a bit warm and air con would be nice, the only other issue is the hairdryer wasn't anywhere near a mirror)( no socket near ) and being a travel type hairdryer kept collapsing , there was a area perfect to do hair/makeup and it was really wasted space but minor issues, tea , coffee and biscuits and a decent size car park. One thing I found odd and I wished id mentioned there I booked this on a card so they had my details but on arrival I was asked to pay but I hadn't even seen the room , bit unprofessional even if I had run of they would be able to take the money, iv never been asked to pay for a service till iv had it, the overall opinion was perfectly adequate and id stay again decent budget hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreacrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we stayed for three nights, hotel was spotless ,staff polite ,our double room was lovely, well presented, the breakfast was cooked to order ,and was lovely, choice on menu was very good ,you could order an evening meal if you wished.it was nice not to worry about parking ,large free car park for guests at front of hotel .Would recomend to any one.also fareham station nearby ,very good value indeed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Having read some of the bad reviews for this hotel I was pleasantly surprised to find the Travelrest - Very clean and tidy, staff very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and clean and breakfast was lovely. Large free car park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_GrahamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
630 reviews
3.0 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
211 reviews
4.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Roundabout Hotel
The Roundabout Hotel
#7 of 7 in Fareham
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TravelRest Solent Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TravelRest Solent Gateway

Property: TravelRest Solent Gateway
Address: 22 The Avenue, Fareham PO14 1NS, England (Formerly The Avenue House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TravelRest Solent Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your TravelRest Solent Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest Solent Gateway Hotel Fareham
TravelRest Solent Gateway Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing