We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Red Lion Hotel whilst in the Portsmouth area on business and popping in on family who live in Gosport. Hotel is ideally located for Portsmouth and Southampton business purposes. The hotel was very clean in all areas and food excellent.
Bedroom although look dated are again very clean and equiped with all you would expect from a 3 star hotel and even give hotel residents free access to the local Fitness centre 2 minutes walk away. Staff are well trained and professional in their duties and made me feel extremely welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    244
    92
    44
    30
See reviews for
120
238
37
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for one night while away for a business meeting. Booked into a single room for B&B. Reception staff helpful and friendly, check-in efficient. Went to my room and immediately became aware of a strong smell that I couldn't identify. Tried to open the window which would only open a small amount.
Room was clean but very basic, didn't feel that I would want to walk around barefoot on the carpet. Wouldn't want to use the glasses in the bathroom for mouth washing.
Hotel very central to town so convenient for dinner out.
Shower not working properly - had to turn temperature up to 50+ to get a warm-ish shower in the morning. Breakfast was standard, I only had cereal and toast so can't comment on cooked items. Waiting staff friendly.
Overall was very disappointed with my room, it was NOTHING like the pictures of the rooms shown by the hotel.

Room Tip: Not room 12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here one night on business in May 2013. Attentive receptionist, very nice room and bathroom - clean with good attention to detail. The bed, however, was out of this world, the squishiest, comfiest bed I have ever slept in. I was heartbroken I had to leave it! If I ever go back to Fareham I will definitely book here again and will hopefully be reunited with said squishy bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanDino385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Bedroom, bathroom, food and cleanliness first class, ideal for the fussy corporate business person like me.
I will be back in Fareham within the next few weeks and will without doubt try and stay at this hotel, but they are always full

Room Tip: book early as they are usually full Monday through to Thursday
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totland Bay
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 mid-week nights using Tesco Clubcard vouchers so were not expecting much anyway. Up until check out the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a good ambience, an interesting old building. Our room (no 8) was on the side of the hotel, near the barrier to the car park but this did not really prove to be a problem. The room was very shabby, old pine furniture, the dressing table had the lacquer missing in parts, looked very sad. The lighting was poor, not enough light to read in bed at night but we always carry a little torch each so that was OK for us. The bathroom had had a partial upgrade. The basin and WC were modern the bath an old cast iron one with some staining in the bottom. The floor material was lifting in places and had some red staining on it. The room had been re-tiled apart from the strip at the bottom of the side wall to the bath which had non-matching tiles and there was lots of white sealant trying to make good without success. The tiling up the side of the bath was something different again! No window in the bathroom but good lighting. The worst bit about the bathroom was the bottom of the back of the door which badly needed repainting. The problem is probably that people leave a wet shower curtain outside the bath and it rests against the door.
We had a sandwich lunch on arrival, perfectly good apart from a distinct lack of egg in it and the service was slow. Breakfast day one was very good, freshly poached eggs. We ate in the restaurant on night two, chose from the two course menu and everything was good. However, breakfast on the morning of check out was a disaster. We had to wait over 20 minutes for the cooked part and when it came it was not good at all. Cheese and ham and egg topped ciabatta was a cold thick slab of cheese (which had been cooked but had gone cold), thick gammon ham (as you would expect if you were having gammon, egg and chips) and a not properly cooked egg. My husband's eggs Benedict was not hot, the ham again was great thick slices. At check out when we complained about the breakfast we were told that a trainee had been on duty in the kitchen but that she understood we had been spoken to about it. No we said, well weren't you offered another breakfast she said, yes we said but didn't have time to wait again. I then showed her a photo of the above mentioned bathroom door but she was frankly quite disintered and at this stage became quite spikey and abrupt. Sorry Old English Inns, we wont be bothering again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments, please be assured we will investigate the points you raised and take the appropriate action where necessary to rectify any issues.
Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Red Lion Hotel.
Nick Miles
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The staff were brilliant, so helpful, storing luggage, printing boarding passes, researching train timetables. Everyone made a great effort to chat to us. The breakfast was a highlight for us. Lots available! The dinner menu was really good too. The room was a bit shabby, especially the en suite. . .but taking into consideration it is an old coaching house it was really nice. The shower nearly blew me away with the power! Everything was so clean, loads of towels. Free wifi, free admission to a nearby gym and leisure centre. What more could you want?!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly_Mackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place does very much what it says on the tin. It is a very traditional coaching hotel, with decent food, a large car park, and well positioned for Fareham town centre. My room was clean and comfortable. Certainly no "wow factor", but definitely no disappointment. Staff were pleasant and efficient, helping resolve a problem with wifi (which is free).

All in all, a good bet for business trippers to the area

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
1.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
214 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: East Street | Junction 11 off M27 motorway, Fareham PO16 0BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Fareham, Hampshire
Red Lion Fareham
Fareham Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing