We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Hotel But A Bad Nights Sleep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hotel But A Bad Nights Sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel is lovely and we were welcomed with open arms. The room was NOT what it looked like in the picture, it was better, it was a lovely room. We only stayed for 1 night. The breakfast was lovely and the selection was fantastic. The only problem I have with this hotel is that the beds and pillows were to firm and for that reason I had quite a bad nights sleep. Overall this hotel was quite good.

Room Tip: I Stayed in room number 229, it was a family room and very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acrockett10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the bedroom to look better than expected. I am however very sorry to read that your bed and pillows were not comfortable for you, the team here are always happy to provide alternative pillows if requested. We do hope that you would chose to stay with us again if in the area. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    248
    130
    36
    35
See reviews for
200
173
30
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I stay in lots of hotels whilst traveling on business. This Holiday Inn is the best of this brand I have stayed in. Excellent check in with free glass of sparkling wine, friendly reception staff, great size and clean rooms and superb food.

It's slightly more expensive that standard HI but we'll worth it.

Thanks to all the staff for their efforts.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share such a great review. I am delighted that you believe we are the best Holiday Inn within the UK, a status that we are all delighted to be referred to as. We understand that the little extras such as a glass of sparkling wine can truly make our guests stay even more delightful. I am very pleased that every aspect of your stay from check in, to a great room and great food was enjoyed by yourself. I shall be sure to pass on your thanks to the whole team here at Fareham. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for just one night as a family of 4 with a 2 and 4 year old. The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and accommodating to our every need, Called in advance to advise it was our son's birthday when there so they put card and balloons in room. Allowed us to decorate table for breakfast and provided their own decorations and badges etc. too! Restaurant staff sang and carried out our cake and made fuss of birthday boy. Pool bit cold but lovely to have with friendly and helpful staff, breakfast lovely with really kind and thoughtful staff, check in and out simple and pleasurable with lovely touches such as wine for adults and goodies for children and really friendly staff. Cannot recommend highly enough. Would definitely stay again if needed somewhere in that area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you and your family had such a great stay and the extra touches for your son's birthday were thoroughly enjoyed. I am sorry to read that you felt the swimming pool was cold, I shall pass this on to our Spirit Health Club who shall look into this. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay including breakfast and the extra goodies provided. We very much hope to see you and your family at the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel and good value. Our room was quiet, very clean with some cute specials - loved the Mars bar. Great to have a chilled wine on arrival - really very welcome after a long journey. The staff are special - friendly and helpful. Thanks for a lovely stay and the ice!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pippa115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review. It is a delight to read the team here referred to as , "special, friendly and helpful", all comments that I shall share with the team. We know the little touches such as chocolate and wine (plus ice) can make your stay, so it's lovely to read that you enjoyed these special treats. We very much hope to see you here again. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for two nights on business, very nice hotel on the outskirts of Fareham, very friendly staff and a short taxi ride into town. Breakfast was really good. The gym and pool is also good. The only annoying negative was £12 for 24 hours. Wi fi, you should not have to pay extra for wi fi in this day and age.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is always great to read our guests writing about how friendly our team are, a comment that I shall be sure to pass on. I am also very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast service too and found the hotel suited your needs. Complimentary WiFi is set to be offered by June this year to all of our IHG Rewards members. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We used this hotel as a base for visiting the Histopric docks, we took two rooms and used the Spa which was a bit dated, however the staff at this property make all the difference. I would 100% recommend this hotel just down to the staff and would use the hotel for this reason, the location is good but the rooms a little tired and needing a spruce up

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay. Our team here always try to offer the best possible service to all of our guests so I am delighted to read you referring to our team as "excellent", a comment that I shall be sure to share. We are delighted that you would recommend our hotel to others and hope to see you here again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Never use this hotel again. bad service and the old woman at the reception was not at all helpful.
Breakfast was just OK and nothing special and the rooms were again nothing special. It was clean enough BUT not worth what I had to pay to stay for 2 nights!! What a way to waste your money.
Some Holiday Inn are good but this one is the worst one I have used. NEVER AGAIN!!

Room Tip: A very good example how not to run a hotel in England!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry to read that you found that your stay did not meet your expectations. I shall personally ensure that your comments are shared with the front desk team regarding the level of service that you experienced from our receptionist and can only apologise, I can ensure you that this is not a usual occurrence. I am sorry to read that you will not visit again. Thank you again for you feedback. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
2.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
4.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.5 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Property: Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing