We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do a lot better, getting poorer as time goes by” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Could do a lot better, getting poorer as time goes by”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I have been here before, as before, staying the night after a ferry crossing from Saint Malo to Portsmouth prior to a long journey north to home (as we did on this occasion). To be very positive, sleep quality exceptional, lovely quiet clean rooms, bar food came within five mins or so and was well presented and of good quality. However, as a long time Priority Club member and only staying at Holiday Inn establishments wherever we may be in the world, and having tens of thousands of points to allow us 'free' stays (we may use them sometime) we do have to say that were were more than disappointed with this stay. The white bathroom towels, although clean were very 'grey' in colour, long past being replaced and the buffet breakfast in the morning left us with something of a critical position. We have been here before, lovely white towels, robes and slippers to wear, bottled water; all this seems to have 'gone'. Breakfast was something of a farce. We were presented with a table for two, given a paper serviette each and a knife and fork, and a mug (no milk) and told where to obtain our food. No hot drink was offered, we assumed we helped ourselves. We obtained our cereal/fruit pieces and realised we had no spoons. There were none on display. After a little wait we had to ask where one obtained spoons, whereupon a waiter went behind the bar to give us one each. I reported to the head waiter that I had taken the last of the orange juice, to be told that it was to be refilled 'immediately' (he did not move from his post); then repeated this to another THREE members of staff over some 20 mins before some more orange juice appeared. My wife and I like HP (brown) sauce and we had, on self service, two of the smallest bottles one can buy, one completely empty and the other, after holiding it upside down for some time, I managed to remove a table spoon full. After the breakfast was eaten I spoke to the restaurant manager and asked how one obtained a hot drink, he appeared quite shocked that no one had asked us before then, he went for it himself, followed then by a waiter going from table to table asking if they wanted a hot drink. I was quite shocked how many people asked for one! Just in case this is read by the management at this place, as a suggestion why not have spoons available for customers, and it would help knives (being given one knife and wanting to place butter on toast means you have to ask for another knife if you have had a cooked breakfast and everything is removed) also being readily available (given the alternative of having to 'catch the eye' of a member of staff. If we ever do the Saint Malo to Portsmouth trip again we we certainly look at other alternatives, not very well done Holiday Inn, Fareham.
(this was reported to the reception staff member on checking out who offered us a 'coffee' to take away with us - refused)

Room Tip: As far away from reception as you can get if there is a weddiing reception taking place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Himself2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am sorry that there were elements of your stay that you found to be less than satisfactory. We do appreciate all feedback form our guests and your points have been discussed following your stay. Thank you again for this feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the near future. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    248
    129
    36
    35
See reviews for
199
173
30
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

stayed at this hotel as wedding was held here my daughter and husband were refused drinks half way through the evening and my daughter was told that her driving lience was a fake , i tried to asure the staff that it was not only to be told that if we made a fuss we would be asked to leave the hotel and would not be permitted to stay the night , my daughter as a one year old baby and her husband does not drink,my daughter is 23 and her husband is 25, later that evening another 4 guest told me the same had happened to them, one was 22,18,20, 25, all had driving liences all were told they were fake, was told the only way staff would believe if they had their passports with them, however we may have drove 4 hours to a wedding but donot carry passports,SO IF YOU ARE GOING TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL AND ARE UNDER 30 PLEASE TAKE YOUR PASSPORT SO NOT TO SPOIL BREAK AWAY, also in the morning check how many coaches are in as the queue for breakfast took a hour,after a phone call to the managment on my return, i was told that all their staff are well trained and can tell an fake id
HOWEVER I TOOK MY DAUGHTERS LICENCE TO THE LOCAL POLICE WHO CONFIRMED IT WAS 100 RIGHT,AND I ALSO TOOK IT TO THE DVLA OFFICE WHO ALSO CONFIRMED IT WAS CORRECT, WORSE STAFF POSSIBLE

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apollouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am sorry that following our conversations we had by telephone some weeks ago, you were not satisfied with our response. As explained as Liquor License holders at the Hotel we have a duty to ensure we are serving alcohol responsibly. If for any reason we have any doubt over Identification produced for the person ordering the drinks or if too much alcohol has been consumed, we are obligated by law to decline further service of alcohol to that individual. I am sorry and disappointed to hear that you found out staff to be less than polite. This is an area our Team really do excel and you will notice from many previous reviews they are very often praised on this. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My family & I stayed at the Holiday Inn near Fareham recently and we were comfortable and well looked after. The room was spacious and clean. The facilities were good including a pool and health suite and the food was very good indeed. Breakfast was great compared to lots of the other hotels I have stayed in & all of the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful. The location is near the motorway for easy access and there are lots of things to do locally. I'd recommend staying here without a doubt. I've been unfortunate enough to experience many 'big name' hotels which don't measure up to this.

Room Tip: Ask for the rear side which is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently been upgrading our breakfast offering, so your praise for the quality of breakfast is very much appreciated. We are very proud of the team we have at Fareham, who deliver our guests the best possible service, and I am pleased that you noticed this throughout your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here on 8th / 9th June for a weekend with friends. Handy for sightseeing in Portsmouth and Gosport and judging by the number of families with small children, handy for Peppa Pig World at Paultons Park too.

Reception : efficient, but see comments later.

Rooms : ok, comfy beds and two grades of pillows (hard and soft) so we had a good nights sleep.

Bar : EXPENSIVE !!! how on earth they can justify £7.39p for a glass of mediocre red wine I do not know ! I thought they'd charged my twice when two drinks (one wine and one lager) exceeded £12, but no ! Go to the Titchfield Mill (10 minutes walk east along the A27 .... much more sensible there.

Food : Only had breakfast, which was 'ok', the bacon and sausages were bit hard, but the eggs (both fried and scrambled) were reasonable.

However .. a word of warning ! Beware of sharp practice when checking in. The reception staff are very keen to push the breakfast vouchers if you have only booked a room. They go to great lengths to tell you that you will not be charged for them, however they are automatically added to your room bill. What they won't tell you (and our friends confirmed this) is that the vouchers, once received, are not refundable. You only find this out once to have the voucher in your hand and read the small print. As we only had breakfast on one day, I requested a refund, to then be informed 'it clearly states on the voucher that they are non-refundable' .... I stuck to my guns and got the money back !

Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dw1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. The points you have raised have been investigated and followed up. Having checked your drinks order the glass of wine you chose was our more expensive wine and coupled with choosing a large 250ml glass this did result in the price being higher than an average glass of wine. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northam, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good clean hotel. Excellent gym and swimming facilities. Hot and cold breakfasts were good, buffet service. Didn't eat in the restaurant as there was a good pub about half a mile down the road (Titchfield Mill). Very helpful staff. I requested an iron and ironing board for my room and it was delivered very quickly. Comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your business stay at the Hotel. i am delighted you enjoyed the food and facilities at the Hotel. Thank you also for your comments on the service you received from our Team. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have stayed here several times now while doing business in the Southampton area. Rooms are comfortable and most importantly - quiet. So I know that a good night's sleep is guaranteed. Friendly staff and helpful too. The food is as you would expect - well cooked and good value. Last night they had run out of the regular pizza on the menu so they rang my room and I was asked to design my own. And I was given a free drink. Not bad eh!

Room Tip: Al of the rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireChap58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your business stay at the Hotel. i am delighted you enjoyed the personal menu option after we had unfortunately run out of your original choice. Thank you also for your comments on the service you received from our Team. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very clean great service thank you. would have liked more info on deals ie chep weekends ect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Hotel. i am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the service you received from our Team. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
4.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
4.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Property: Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing