We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent - in every way”
Reviewed October 22, 2007

I stayed here last week for 4 nights whilst doing a work course there for 5 days - infact I never left the hotel for 5 days. The Holiday Inn at Fareham certainly exceeded my expectations. Check in was extremely efficient, the room was ready at 8.30am which I didn't expect. The room was spacious, immaculate and had everything I would need. The bathroom had good lighting and the shower was the most powerful that I have ever experienced.
The food was a real treat - an immense selection at breakfast and very good quality.
The staff were most attentive and extremely friendly and helpful.
I used the pool twice during the week and it was very good for a hotel pool - quite big. Sadly the jacuzzi and steam room were not working last week.

I stay in many hotels through work and this was one of the best hotels that I have experienced. It was also my first experience of a Holiday Inn and I will certainly be tempted to try another.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, choice of pillows, good swimming pool
  • Disliked — Price of using internet for 30 mins in the foyer - £3.00 for 30 mins
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BunnyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    252
    134
    39
    36
See reviews for
203
178
30
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
286 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We spent one night at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable.Restaurant meals were fine.It is a good place to stay if you are sightseeing in the area,especially if you get a good B.B. package.

  • Liked — Nice room
  • Disliked — expensive bar prices
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

This is one of those few hotels that's run by a big American chain that has managed to take all the good bits from that and combine it with the best bits of British hopsitality. This is rare and the results are extremly pleasant.

There is also a continous low drone of the air con system for the hotel which you will hear as you walk in (although thankfully not once you are inside or anywhere else in the hotel). The most dissapointing thing about the hotel are it's looks and location, if you want splendid views or somewhere to relax outside this is not the hotel for you.

If however you are a (particularly business) traveller who appreciates, good , polite, swift service, good quality food and drink and comfortable rooms for a reasnoble price then you're in the right place.

The rooms, both (executive and standard) are a good size, well layed out and comfortable with all the amenites you could need. Having tried both on more than a few occasions I wouldn't bother with booking an executive room unless you really need a mini-bar, the standard rooms have everything else.

My only other real critism of this hotel is that the internet access in the room (wired) which works excellently is rather pricy at £15 per day being the only option other than paying for a week (£70!). The service does however work very simply and is billed to the room and performs well. There is cheaper wireless intenet available in the lobby and bar areas but for much reduced amounts of time.

The food:

The evening menu is a little limited and won't blow your socks off but it's all reasnoble fare, well presented and doesn't cost the earth either.

The breakfast is great, IMHO one of the best bits of staying at this hotel. It's a buffet but FAR, FAR exceeds the breakfast buffets of almost any other hotel I've stayed at certainly for the price. The food is put on the buffet in smallish quanities (say 10-20 sausages (usually 2 kinds) or 8 eggs at a time) and replaced at very regular intervals so it's not cold or hopelessly overcooked. I WISH other hotels would learn to do this!

Service is generally to a very high standard and staff are typically polite, interested, helpful and attentive.

Whenever I am in Fareham (which is quite often) this is where I stay, IMHO that's the best recomendation I can give.

  • Liked — Breakfast is great, service is excellent and consistent.
  • Disliked — Not set in the most stunning surroundings.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

I have stayed at this Hotel a few times and i cannot fault it. The staff are really freindly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The restarant is good value with a three course meal for £20. Very good location and easy too get around. Have stayed at a few Holiday Inns and this one is the best....

  • Liked — Clean rooms and easy to get to
  • Disliked — leaving!!!!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank disneyfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

After discovering that accommodation on the Isle of Wight was difficult (don't allow single night stays) for Easter weekend - opted to stay on the mainland. The Holiday Inn Fareham Solent was great value compared to the other local hotels, in fact we included breakfast for less than we'd pay elsewhere.

Check in was quick and easy (although they wouldn't serve me at the Priority Club desk). Staff were friendly and accommodating. We had a back facing room (view of lawn with rabbits). The room had been recently renovated/updated. Everything was in working order and good condition. We got different pillows from the "pillow menu".

Dinner - we looked locally - not much around except the TGI Friday's which was packed out with a 45min queue. We carried on towards Southampton and found a great little Brewers Fayre for dinner.

Breakfast - was a bit chaotic, short wait for table and slightly understaffed but all the same a hearty spread of hot and cold options and complimentary Independent to read.

Check out - no problems, quick and painless. Car parking is free in the large car park - which seems secure (not fenced) but covered with CCTV.

I've stayed here before, and we'll stay here again.

  • Liked — Cheap prices, easy to find, close to Portsmouth & Southampton & Isle of Wight
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

My Wife and I stayed at this hotel over a Public Holiday, and as Wheelchair users, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

The whole experience, from check-in to checkout was a complete pleasure. The staff were attentive to our needs and helpful when we encountered a couple problems.

The room we had was very big by UK standards, giving us plenty of space. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were well sound insulated.

  • Liked — Access, and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strongbowhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

This hotel had reopened after a refit a few days before we stayed.

Our children 15 & 11 were given a goody bag, first time this has happened at a Holiday Inn. But there were no childrens channels on the television although the bag advertised them.

The phone in our room did not work and was held together with tape, we did enquire at reception but nothing was done about it. There were only the basic channels on the television we got more when we stayed at a Holiday Inn Express.

The hotels was great but you would need to have a car to get anywhere. Breakfast I would say was above average, although I am not into cooked breakfast.

The biggest draw back was the pool, they roped off a small area for 'play' which was shared with someone having a swimming lesson, the majority of the pool was for serious swimmers. A family with a baby and small child were told to go into the 'play' area which on the Saturday was no bigger than one swimming lane, on Sunday they had changed this to two swimming lanes, if the pool had been busy with children this would have been a problem. But it did make us feel children were not really welcome to play in the pool, even though a pool ball was provided in the goody bag. I have not experienced this in other Holiday Inn pools and it did spoil our childrens enjoyment of the pool.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — rules of pool
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dobydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
2.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
4.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Property: Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing