We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Dinner”
Review of Osborne View

Osborne View
Ranked #75 of 167 Restaurants in Fareham
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Visited with a group of friends for a Christmas dinner and had a good evening. Service was friendly and efficient, food was good with the Pâté and Roast Turkey both really good. Good selection of ales and beers.

Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
There are newer reviews for Osborne View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 778 of 858 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Sunday 9th December 2012. Lunch with my large family. (15) Helen was our server. We pre ordered our food the week before. Starters came out fast once we were all seated. The staff called out our names so no confusion over who ordered what! Gorgeous main courses and pud's followed by coffee and after dinner drinks. First class. we can't recommend this place enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bunnyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My 60th birthday party was held there last night after us as a couple had often eaten there in the past. We were given our own room just off from the bar and it was a good sized room for all 33 of my family. The waiting staff, particularly Christina were great and very friendly and attentive. Some of the party had pr-ordered from the Christmas Special menu and half from the main menu so we knew there would be a bit of a delay in the bringing out of our food.

The food was good and most of us had three courses. A couple of minor errors occurred with missing orders, but in all fairness this was dealt with quickly and probably due to a late meal booking for one extra person to our party.
I had the Christmas special with the Prawn Cocktail starter, served up on a plate, (instead of the expected sundae dish), but no worries, and the main for me was the salmon, cooked just how I liked it, the Eton mess was to die for. I understand most of my party found their food great.
The expected wait between courses gave us all time to talk, take lots of pictures and even an engagement proposal happened, so no complaints. We know dealing with such a large party can't be easy and thank you to the manager for honouring the mistake of us ordering from two menus which couldn't have been easy for the chef. Our compliments to the chef and the team for keeping it all together for us, We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisAinsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Been coming here for years and seen several owner changes in that time. Location is superb with great views across the Solent. Just can't beat the beer garden on a fine summers day. Sadly though the prices have risen steadily but the quality of the food has stayed the same.
Table service is always good but often have to wait in a que to be served at the bar, they never seem to have enough bar staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daviddewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After having a lovely meal 4 weeks ago here, as a family we invited our friends to go for a sunday meal 11th Nov 2012. We arrived to be welcomed with a nice reception and a table for 9 straight away.
This was a table in a room all by itself which to some respect was nice but the room was right by the doors to the garden area so anyone going in & out would make our room very cold.
In the end had to shut the doors to the room so the children didn't get cold.
Drinks order were taken, but took at least 10mins to arrive, that was 6 of the drinks the other 3 drinks took another 5mins, when these arrived 1 pint was put on the table the other 2 were spilt all over my partner, she had a brand new coat on (2 days old) absolutely covered in larger, both my partner & sister-in-laws handbags were covered along with i-phones etc within the bag.
My partners jeans were absolutely dripping wet, which meant her having to be like this for the duration of our stay.
The waitress went & got the manageress which she just brought it kitchen paper to wipe up the spill, not even a sorry was mentioned.
After clean up we then waited a further 5mins for two replacement drinks.
Main meal ordered, all was good with the food everyone enjoyed.
A further drink was ordered & yet again a very long wait, none of the main meal plates etc were removed before deserts were served & all old drink glasses were not taken away.
4 of the main desserts were not available & when bill arrived an additional cost had been added for a dessert not ordered.
Overall the whole visit was a disappointment, apart from the cost of the meal itself i also have a dri-cleaning bill for a coat.
When we mentioned this to the staff a reduction of £3.00 was offered.
Best part of the visit is the view across the solent,
WONT BE GOING AGAIN.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stuart h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osborne View also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Bursledon, Southampton
Fareham, Hampshire
 

Been to Osborne View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing