We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellerslie Hotel

Ellerslie Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ellerslie Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Fareham B&B and Inns
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived late at 10pm After a long drive in France and ferry we were greeted in a very friendly manner. Our room (1) was a good size and clean. It had a great full size bath which was very welcoming. It had TV and tea and coffee making facilities. After a really comfortable night we arrived in the kitchen for breakfast. In a really homely atmosphere we were offered cereals fruit juice and a full English breakfast. It was fresh and well received. Tea and coffee as well as toast were also provided.
All in all a great friendly hotel which we already rebooked on our return to France.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
10
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just spent 2 nights in relative comfort, in this rurally located, family run hotel within easy reach of Gosport, Fareham and even Portsmouth. The area in general is short on casual, friendly, inexpensive but value for money establishments and the Ellerslie Hotel fits this category admirably. Spacious, adequately comfortable and expressly suitable as a base to explore the area from or, as we were, visiting relatives who do not have sufficient room to accommodate.
If you choose to stay here you will have to travel a few miles for shops and places to eat but they're not hard to find. The proprietors are welcoming and unpretentious and proud of the service they offer.
Previous reports regarding the noisy bin collection on a Wednesday are supported; but really, that's not the fault of the hotel. They do, however, need to get the central heating system fixed, as individual oil filled radiators are not the answer and we would hope that a double glazing rep stays there soon! This is 2013, after all. Fortunately we were there when it was comparatively mild but wouldn't fancy it in the depths of winter. Could be picky about the less than generous comfort tray and why do hoteliers think we need caffeine free coffee (what is that anyway?). A biscuit or 2 go along way when writing things up or down.

It's not the Ritz but you're not paying Ritz prices. A local Premier Inn will cost you the same, or more and we all get fed up with them, unless you are a working traveller on expenses. We didn't have time to test the breakfast at an extra cost but it smelt inviting enough.

Room Tip: Room 2 is spacious, east facing for early morning sun and furthest away from the bins-especially use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvinlifetilwedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We needed a one night stay. It is an older building, but our room (5) was very nicely appointed. Nice decor, nice bedding, modern bathroom and lovely and warm.

Breakfast is available at 8.00 per person

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Well signed off the road, and plenty of parking.

My room was a reasonable size and very clean, it had a nice big bathroom, but very dated decor and a slightly musty smell. The window looked over the roadway into the windows of the house opposite ( booking confirmation promised a 'scenic garden view') and had no net curtains for privacy. There were a couple of small but comfortable chairs and the small double bed was comfortable too, though the pillows were the hard rubbery type.

The welcome was warm and friendly - the owner, noticing the radio/alarm in the room pinging, reset it for 8 am for me, though she was unable to work out how to adjust the tuning. The next morning it woke me at 6.30 am, which was a very bad start - as I dozed off again the dustbin collection arrived outside the window and took some (noisy) time.. The thin unlined curtains do not keep out the light. Eventually I decided to read until it was time to get up, switched the light on - and they all fused!

Breakfast is between 7.30 and 9am, the actual time has to be specified the night before, for the convenience of the kitchen. Breakfast is taken around one table with other guests, who were pleasant, and a rather loud television practically on top of it, which was not really, to my mind. The food was fine, pretty standard, jug of orange juice on the table, jams in mini jars, white toast, that sort of thing. You pay for it on top of the room price, about £8.00.

When I went to check out, their their credit card machine had broken.

It was probably bad luck that all these glitches happened at once, bulbs have to blow sometime, machines do break down- however, if even the owner cannot understand the radio/alarm it might be better to dump it and invest in a old fashioned wind up clock!
Maybe I brought a jinx with me- I had an hour's traffic jam on the way home, I cannot blame that on the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room, or avoid Wednesday dustbin-day unless you wish to wake early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin Goodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Whilst the hotel could do with a little updating in terms of decor, the ladies (and Simon) who run it are superb. We used it for business, and needed to review our demo beforehand, so Simon kindly arranged for us to use their dining room. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
The rooms were large and comfortable, and the breakfast fantastic.
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room which smelt and felt damp. Bathroom needs some improvements. Breakfast was good and it was in a perfect location for us

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Out of the independantly run establishments where I have stayed, this is certainly towards the top of the tree. A good size room with chairs & desk, comfortable bed, decent en-suite with plenty of hot water, Wifi access easy, breakfast like being at home. It is an old property which retains its character whilst providing good quality up to date facilities. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
205 reviews
2.1 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
0.7 mi away
The Roundabout Hotel
The Roundabout Hotel
#7 of 7 in Fareham
229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerslie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerslie Hotel

Property: Ellerslie Hotel
Address: 72 Down End Road, Fareham PO16 8TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ellerslie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerslie Hotel Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing