We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food and family service”
Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Ranked #20 of 163 Restaurants in Fareham
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Golden Lion is in Fareham's historic High Street, a conservation area in the borough of Fareham. We hope you enjoy your experience in our Traditional English Pub. We would be delighted to receive any comments, good or constructive in order that we may build upon and improve our business.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great pub food and family service”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

First time and delicious food that is locally sourced and great value with caring service lovely atmosphere. A great find!

Helpful?
Thank Aniljain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    70
    31
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Proper pub food at proper prices”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had lunch here with a friend recently, for the first time. Sausage egg and chips and Scampi and chips. You have a choice between "hearty" or standard portions: we both plumped for hearty. This isn't quite enough for an american midwest truck driver but it was fine for us although we did wonder what the non hearty option looked like, especially if you removed the side salad from the plate. (Aren't we passed the time where side salad equals neatly chopped up bits and bobs with no dressing?). Side salad to one side, as it should be, you can't knock the food at all - really good value. The service was very good, very friendly and very prompt.

This is a pub that does food. Long may it continue and long may the menu stay as it is.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kells108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love the pub”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Been frequenting this pub with the wife off and on for a while now and always find it a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The bar staff are always chatty and helpful, which just goes to make it an even better experience.

Have had a few meals in there and the majority have been well cooked, presented and value for money. Did have a roast beef dinner a short while back and to be honest, we were a tad disappointed with the actual beef. It looked like the sort you would get in a pack, rather than cut from a joint! The roast potatoes and vegetables were spot on, but the beef lacked that finesse.

That aside, the pub is nice mix of clientele and is great for a beer or three and they often have guest ales on.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brigham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great traditional Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having read the positive reviews on here we booked Sunday lunch and weren't disappointed. We arrived with our two year old little girl (who is quite noisy at times) and given a slightly older crowd wondered whether this would go down well with the lunchers. We needn't have worried at all as the landlady warmly welcomed us in and sat us down while making us feel right at home.

The food was great, really tasty. My "measure of a good roast" is when my roast potatoes arrive firm and crisp with fluffy centres. They passed!

They operate a slim window, from about 1200-1400hrs so you know the food you are getting is freshly cooked and not sat under a hotplate. (all with locally sourced ingredients).

Monte the friendly family golden retriever is absolutely gorgeous. If you're lucky- he may pay your table a visit, as he did us. Great food, friendly barstaff and clientele.... and a nice pint of London Pride to top it off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Something to Roar about”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Came here for lunch as it was fourth on tripadvisor with the folks, never been here before and a nice little gem, lovely staff welcoming, friendly and very efficient. The place is a nice old fashioned pub with guest ales and different evenings to suit everyone from quizzes ,singles night, live music and steak night from stars butchers at Emsworth ordered in. We all had a light lunch which was a warm baguette white or multi grain with piping hot chunky chips a colourful salad consisting of different leaves, lettuce ,cucumber and peppers and different fillings 1. Cheddar cheese and sweet pickle 2. Three rashers of bacon cooked crisp or not 3. Two pork sausages all for £4.95 excellent value. For a lighter option just share you might be able to have a pud that way and if shopping in Fareham park at the pub first which is free then once you've finished lunch move to the multi storey car park saving a bit more money on parking will be back now we know about this fuller's pub

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tail2Tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

 
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing