We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Ranked #20 of 161 Restaurants in Fareham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Golden Lion is in Fareham's historic High Street, a conservation area in the borough of Fareham. We hope you enjoy your experience in our Traditional English Pub. We would be delighted to receive any comments, good or constructive in order that we may build upon and improve our business.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited one lunch time with parents and our daughter. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was excellent and the service was good. Had not been before but would certainly return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    69
    30
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Called in for lunch while shopping in Fareham. Warm, clean and bright with a pleasant atmosphere, we chose a table, and within minutes were greeted by a member of staff who asked what we would like to drink. The menu had an excellent choice of 'pub grub' including the classics (Gammon, scampi, lasagne etc)
We both chose the Steak and Kidney pudding which arrived within a short time, freshly cooked, piping hot with large crunchy potato wedges, Savoy cabbage, carrots and green beans with plenty of 'ale flavoured' gravy all cooked to perfection and totally delicious. Great portion size as well!
What else can I say except, 'we will definitely be calling in again and recommend this pub to one and all.'

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeadogPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Visited several times, always impressed”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After visiting and eating in the Golden Lion earlier in 2012 and being impressed, we decided to have a Christmas meal with 8 other friends here in December. Everybody was very happy with the locally cooked food, service, reasonably priced drinks and the friendly pub atmosphere. We will be back in 2013 for our Christmas get together again, as long as they let us (we were well behaved!!!) and no doubt my Wife and I will pop back for meals before then as it is in our opinion one of the best pub meals in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great service..friendly staff and good fish and chips. A nice, clean pub that has a good atmosphere and delivers on good serive and food

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,295 reviews
565 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Lunch time home cooking at reasonable price.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Popped in for lunch with work colleagues. friendly efficient and prompt service. Good choice of home cooking and lighter meals at sensible prices. pleasant pub atmosphere. ideal for lunch with friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

 
Southwick, Hampshire
 
Fareham, Hampshire
Fareham, Hampshire
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing