We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 meals for £10”
Review of Fishermans Rest

Fishermans Rest
Ranked #30 of 162 Restaurants in Fareham
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“2 meals for £10”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

wow cant complain about that, good beer and lovely surroundings, food good quality and very good, lovely garden, but gets full of smokers in the summer, the only downside!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    211
    108
    90
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our first visit and will not be our last. We visited with friends who have just moved into the area. The full car park was a good indication of a popular pub and there was a full dining area, so we were lucky to get a table just being cleared. The bar was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly and knowledgable about their products including real ales on tap. The menu was in four sections - the main menu was varied and lots of variety from starters to desserts, salads, light bites and jacket potatoes. The 2 for £9.95 - Specials board (2 starters, 6 or 7 mains and 2 desserts - finally the extensive vegetarian options (sadly lacking in so many pubs and restaurants), I really enjoyed the smokey bean chilli and rice, my companions enjoyed rogan josh and rice, ham egg and chips and one of the biggest salmon fillets I have seen. We also enjoyed a nice variety of desserts. The waiting staff were friendly and entered into a bit of banter. Look forward to returning in the spring with other friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank horwood_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice little pub”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Haven't been hear for years had a manager we didn't like but the new guy gav has been there a few years now and turned it into a really nice pub warm fires good beer and nice food what more could you want

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigfoodbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant retaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have not been to this restaurant for a long time due to my wife only liking plain cooking, We think it must be under a new management as the food was varied and there was sufficient choice on the menu for us both. Very pleasant meal and pleasant staff

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NKVFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubbington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“cosy”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Although the Fisherman's Rest has been extended it has managed to keep its intimate feel. Food is fabulous.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermans Rest also viewed

 
Titchfield, Fareham
Fareham, Hampshire
 
Eastleigh, Hampshire
 

Been to Fishermans Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing