We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Positioned Hotel in Fareham”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lysses House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lysses House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Positioned Hotel in Fareham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were a party of five and took five separate rooms. We arrived a little early but were allowed to book in anyway.

The rooms were fairly basic but were clean and comfortable enough. The bathroom was in reasonable order and although the towel ring fell off the wall and the knob of the cold tap came off in my hand they were easily mended and provided a moment of comedy. The shower took quite a while to warm up but once it reached its proper temperature it worked fine.

The hotel seems to be staffed by a young but enthusiastic staff. All of them were helpful and polite.

The hotel has a good size car park to its rear and I felt that our cars were safe there. Unfortunately the large cedar(?) trees dropped thousands of needles all over the cars that found every nook and cranny of their bodywork and provided me with half an hour’s activity hoovering them out once I returned home.

The real joy of the hotel is its location. It commands good views to the rear (if you ignore the industrial estate) and it is just a short walk to nearby hotels and the retail part of the High Street. Opposite there is an excellent pub for lunch – The golden Lion.

Bearing in mind the reasonable room rate (£64.50) which included a good breakfast I thought that the Lysses offered excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_the_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I can only apologise that you experienced some minor maintenance issues with your room but I am pleased that overall you had a positive experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lysses in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    82
    52
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
45
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a single room in the loft (2nd floor)
Checkin was easy and friendly helpful lady
The room was very clean and smelt fresh, there were no unpleasant reminders (such as hairs) from previous guests! Bed comfy, i slept really well, i think being up in the loft helped as no one above me. Lovely view from room at the back of Hotel
The decor is somewhat dated but all very clean and pleasant. Really good value room rate i feel.
Breakfast was pleasant, help yourself to usual... cereals and juice, waiter asking for toast and cooked orders. All very tasty and nice.
Checkout... again staright forward and friendly, so nice to be asked if i enjoyed my stay, so many places don't even bother asking which i find so rude and uncaring
I have stayed at pretty much all of the hotels in Fareham over the years, i would definately return to Lysses, there are a few i wouldn't!! One of which is just at the bottom of the same street.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was very quiet with lovely view at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58HelenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lysses House Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I would say this is just the place to say if you want to recive friendly staff who can not do enough for you excellent food ,clean comfortable rooms i can not rember the last time i had such great service and been so welcomed a***** all the way thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: if you want family friendly place to stay look no further great location to just walk into the shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieqbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review. We really appreciate it. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Richmond Restaurant in the Lysses Hotel is an excellent place to eat. There is a first class chef there who knows how to cook, especially vegetables. Our meal was lovely. The service great and food to savour. We would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyssesManager, Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We hope to see you again at Lysses very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursledon,Southampton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Went to a Golden Wedding anniversary meal, it cannot be faulted. We had a choice of three courses to pre-select, the choice was by good. All food was well presented and very well cooked. Can honestly say never felt rushed at all, the waiting staff worked very hard but all had a smile on their faces. If you want a special meal this is the place to go, the main menu very varied and something to suit all tastes. Would definitely recommend this for a special occasion

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. I will pass them on to our staff who will be most appreciative. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Staff pleasant on arrival. Rooms not bad decor wise. Dated but cleanish. Got woke up around 1am with what can only be described as a "sumo wrestling match upstairs". The noise continued severely until just after 6am. Phoned and complained at 4am to the staff, but to b honest, this made no difference!! Eventually got to sleep about 7am. I would love to have had breakfast so I could leave some kind of positivity in this review. But slept right through breakfast service!!!!!!!!! Would never stay at this hotel again. ( unless they supply industrial ear defenders as standard). :-(

Room Tip: Rooms are far too noisy. We personally got no sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyssesManager, Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I can only apologise that you had a bad experience with us. Unfortunately, on the night in question we did have some inconsiderate guests stay with us in the room above you. Our night porter did speak to them and was assured that they would keep the noise down. The problem you encountered is neither a regular occurrence nor a true reflection of the service we offer. We always try to do everything in our power to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience with us, and I am truly sorry that this was not the case on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked a table for 11 friends for Sunday lunch, the menu was excellent staff very helpful and friendly. We have used Lysses many times and will most certainly continue. It is also a great place to meet friends for coffee and bar snacks. The new decor is brilliant. Thank you.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyssesManager, Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fareham hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
3.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.1 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Roundabout Hotel
The Roundabout Hotel
#7 of 7 in Fareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lysses House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lysses House Hotel

Property: Lysses House Hotel
Address: 51 High Street, Fareham PO16 7BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lysses House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lysses House, once a family residence built at the height of the Georgian era, is now a small independent hotel situated in the quiet and peaceful surroundings of the old High Street in Fareham. It is easily accessible from the M27, junction 11. We have 21 ensuite bedrooms all with comfy duvets, flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi. Our lounge and bar area is the perfect place to relax with friends or colleagues. Light snacks, refreshing drinks or tea and coffee are available. When the weather is warm you can also enjoy the tranquil surroundings of our garden terrace. Our Richmond Restaurant is open for breakfast daily, lunch (Sunday to Friday) and dinner (Monday to Saturday. We grow our own herbs and use fresh produce from as many local suppliers as possible. Although we do not have leisure facilties on site, all our hotel residents can visit the local LA Fitness centre, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We offer high standards, fine food and excellent facilities, but most of all, friendly personal service delivered by a team of great people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Lysses House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lysses House Hotel Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing