We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Meal for 2”
Review of Nicolino's

Nicolino's
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Emsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal for 2”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have rated the restaurant as very good. It was better than average but not really very good.
Booking the evening was fine, no issues.
The welcome was a little awkward as the people who welcomed us were either very inexperienced or their English was not the best.
Menu is extensive and has a very good selection.
The food was good. Stick to 2 courses - my starter could nearly pass as a main meal. You will struggle to eat a 3 course.
I thought the drinks were a little on the expensive side.
The thing that let the restaurant down was it's service. When placing our drinks order the waiter had to check what 'Southern Comfort' was. I was not offered ice or lemon.
The vegetables did not come out with the main meal.
My coffee was spilt, making quite a mess of the saucer. Whilst the waiter did apologise I personally thought it should have been replaced. The coffees were not really that hot (in temperature). My wife did not get a glass of water that she asked for.
We would go back again as the food was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    134
    48
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food an hospitality”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had a lovely relaxing evening with friends for a birthday meal. Two menus to choose from with a good variety of Italian dishes, good selection of starters, Pizzas, Pastas and other main courses. Also dishes and desserts of the day on the blackboards. We all had pasta dishes, which were excellent. Atmosphere was relaxing and would suit families and couples. All in all a lovely restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the third time we have eaten here when visiting family in Portsmouth. There is a large menu to choose from, anything from a pizza to fillet steak and lots in between! The service is good though don't go if in a hurry because you need the time in between courses as the portions are large. Food is great, wine good and 1 tip, if you want dessert, do without starter and just have garlic bread which is gorgeous as its almost impossible to eat 3 courses!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sublime local Italian restuarant”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you love fresh fish and seafood then I challenge you to find somewhere better to eat in hampshire. Every time I have eaten here the staff have been attentive, the portions large, the food delicious and the atmosphere is always buzzing! Couldn't recommend more for a great meal with family.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

All round great meal, properly cooked fresh food served by friendly attentive staff, generous portions, reasonable price, wine menu to serve most pockets and tastes. One bit of advice, try the specials of the day, truly a reflection of what is seasonally available using local produce.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Southseagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicolino's also viewed

Emsworth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Woodmancote, West Sussex
Emsworth, Hampshire
 

Been to Nicolino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing