We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”

Restaurant 36 on The Quay
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant 36 on The Quay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 36 Restaurants in Emsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $119
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went here Thursday evening, the meal really was first class had the tasting menu and totaly blew me away there was 8 of us and all of us were really impressed we are all chefs and even for us it was brilliant, the service was good and not to over the top and the food was clean, fresh and very seasonal, it also wasnt to much for the chef to come out and talk to us. Once again first class and will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    65
    35
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great food, slightly let down by service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed and ate here last weekend. Food was delicious. We were not bowled over by the amuse bouche, but after that everything was very good. Short menu, but I could have eaten everything on it. The head waitress was very competent and charming, but the younger waitresses, whilst nice and friendly, were not as professional as we might have expected. For example the amuse bouche was served but we had to ask someone to come back and explain what it was. On a more serious note, our son has a serious nut allergy, which we explained several times. When it came to dessert, out of the four choices, three had nuts in. He asked to have poached pears, which could presumably have been served with ice cream or with the cinnamon doughnuts from another dish, but was told he could only have the lemon platter. He did, but one of the elements was served on a bed of hazelnut praline. This is really bad in any restaurant, but particularly in one of this standard. We didn't get much of an apology at the time from our waitress, and no acknowledgement of the problem from anyone more senior, though they did apologise when I emailed them afterwards. The rooms were comfortable and very quiet. One of our rooms was quite small, the other much bigger. Two niggles: the breakfast (delicious) is served in a small area upstairs and we were woken up by the sound of breakfast being prepared. Also the hot water ran out, so we had enough for one bath but not enough to use the shower attachment to rinse hair.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warmington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“City sophistaction at The Seaside”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

On the eve of sailing from Portsmouth for a gourmet week amongst the Chateau of The Loire we decided to start in earnest with a meal in Emsworth. It was without doubt the finest meal of the whole trip - France eat your heart out.

The restaurant came well recommended having had a Michelin star for some time but this often leads to dissapointment. Not in this case - I can only say that there were 4 of us and we each tried something different for all 3 courses and we all were suitably impressed. The staff were professional, the atmosphere is delightful and the chef really knows his business. There is an enthusiasm here that sets the establishment apart from the also-rans. I can't wait to return - I wont bother with France!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailwithrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy Anniversary”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Just a quick note, new to Trip Advisor.
Went to this restaurant/hotel to celebrate a 35th wedding anniversary. Stayed in the Vanilla Suite, overlooking the small harbour. Fabulous room, great views, quiet and with a comfy bed.
Restaurant. Brilliant. Calm, informative and unobtrusive service by a charming team. To me the sign of good service is that you just don't notice it happening. What I loved was despite being a one 'Tyre' star Restaurant it was just so informal and unpretentious. People sitting, eating, chilled in jeans, even one hoodie!! Loved it. Oh, and the food, proper portions, well presented and delicious. Informative, lady wine waiter. good wine, not stupid prices. The cheese board, twelve cheeses laid out as the hours on a clock with a foolproof guide to what was what, was novel and a fabulous experience. Start at twelve and go!
We will go back with some friends and hopefully the Tasting Menu will be available. Apparently not on a Sat night.
Breakfast served in the room Sunday morning, good coffee, freshly squeezed OJ, little things, but attention to detail brilliant. And just great to watch the tide going out from the window seat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot,
Level Contributor
278 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Pretty location for a relaxed lunch”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a different spot close to Portsmouth for a business lunch this was an excellent find! The village is easy to get to, there is brilliant parking just a short walk away and the location, right next to the sea makes for a lovely view whilst enjoying the service and food.

At lunchtime the restaurant was relatively quiet but service was good with dishes coming close, but not too quick. Perhaps if it was a romantic encounter you'd want a little more time to linger, but for a business lunch the pace was close to perfect. The menu is fish-centric but there are options to keep all appetites happy and the quality and presentation were very good indeed. The dishes were bright and attractive and the taste wasn't a let down ither. An extensive wine list has a good range of styles and prices are fair if not exactly cheap.

Overall the atmosphere, the style, the attentiveness and of course the food itself make Restaurant 36 a great spot for either an indulgent lunch or a good, private place for businbess caht. And if you are coming from further away, they have a few very pleasant looking rooms so there is no need to deny yourself a decent drink with dinner!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 36 on The Quay also viewed

Emsworth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Emsworth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 

Been to Restaurant 36 on The Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing