We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, and friendly helpful staff”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were visiting Emsworth and called into The Crown for a drink, decided to wait for food menu to recommence...best decision ever!!
Food amazing well worth waiting for, hospitality impressive, try it out for yourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Betsyvw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 161 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in this hotel out of desperation, wish I'd read all the reviews fully to know what I was letting myself in for. Our room was just a room, not facilities at all, we had to share a bathroom which is only apparent if you compare the other rooms, the room itself was cramped and the linen was stained and the general cleanliness was appalling. The room was located above the beer garden which when you've had a busy day and need rest, and really dislike the smell of stale alcohol and tobacco smoke then definitely do not stay here. The pub atmosphere is fine if you don't appreciate clean air and like a stuffy (non-airconditioned) room with no insulation from exterior noises. For £79 for one night this place is an uber rip off, definitely taught a lesson to read other reviews first! Couldn't wait to leave and seriously considered sleeping in the car instead!

Room Tip: Read all the descriptions!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jcdcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed in Emsworth for a weekend in early May and chose this pub for no other reason than it was central. How glad we were too! The welcome was very warm and friendly from every single member of staff we met on the two evenings we spent there, and especially from the owners Paul & Veronica and the manager. Our dog was welcomed and treated like a customer and we were left in no doubt that this is the place to relax and enjoy really good pub food in a family atmosphere. The weather was cool so we couldn't enjoy the outdoor sheltered seating area behind the rear room where we sat, but imagine it would be a great place in warm weather. We would make a point of returning when in the area again, it is such a comfort to find an excellent place when staying in a B & B. The Crown also does B&B which could be worth a try as I think the breakfasts would be very good. VERY WELL DONE ALL OF YOU !!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just been to the hotel for my daughter's birthday lunch which included a speciality burger .. Yummyt! From the very extensive menu .. Cajun chicken is delicious And seems to be a favourite of the staff.
Great food great service and friendly atmosphere as per usual. .
Try the bombardier.

Will return soon!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank davidtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We came across The Crown quite by accident one evening. The band were really good and we decided to stay the night so we could both have a few drinks. I asked the landlord and paid cash for the room (nice perk for him!) He told us to find him before we wanted to go to bed as the room was "tricky to find" After a few more beers we decided to pop over the road for a curry... sat down/ordered/got drinks and then like a whirlwind of weirdness the landlord of the pub flew through the door of the Indian restaurant and demanded in a rather loud voice why we hadn't spoken to him about the room and "if you dont come over here now, you won't be able to find it" My BF and I looked at each other in total astonishment. My BF followed the rude man back to the pub and got the instructions to our room location. Luckily our food wasn't cold and to be honest we laughed at such outrageous behaviour....me thinks the landlord doth indulge a little too much in his own wears!

Our room was adequate but awful curtains that meant no possibility of a lie in. The bathroom was tiny and the toiletries not great for two people.

We were really hungry but couldn't have breakfast after last nights rude outburst from Mr Angry because my partner wouldn't have been able to bite his tongue so we left .

I would definitely return to The Crown but I honestly think that £65 is too high for what they offer with regards to a welcoming manner.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SerenityIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Crown is a traditional pub with rooms with a friendly welcome and honest service. Its not a gastro-pub or a boutique hotel and in truth the rooms are a bit faded and run down, but it has very attentive staff, good simple pub food and beer and reasonably priced rooms. The bonus is that they love dogs and we were made to feel welcome with your four legged companion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Had dinner here in April and we all thought the food was excellent. We were staying locally and didnt realise they had rooms but we popped in for a glass of wine in the afternoon and took a peep at the menu. The bar staff were freindly and helpful and we sat on a sofa by the fire with a glass of wine and a good local ale. Dinner that night was great, everyone enjoyed what they had chosen and the atmosphere was lively, helped by the Landlords sense of humour. We had a lovely waitress and she was very helpful and attentive, never forgetting to return and check we had enough drinks etc. I had the ribs which were lovely but be warned its not a small portion, there is wide choice on the menu including catch of the day, all reasonably priced. Overall I thought the place was very welcoming and relaxed with a good atmosphere. They have live music frequently so if you are staying there you may want a room away from the noise. Or just join in. On our second visit they were hosting a murder mystery with an "allo allo" theme and it was great to see how many regulars got into the spirit with the costumes. Never seen so many Flicks and Grubers not to mention french waitresses. Well done to all of you and well done to the staff and mangement for running a good pub and restaurant. I cant review the accomodation though as we didnt stay there.

Room Tip: check if theres live music if you want a room there. Otherwise book early for dinner as they do get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jswainston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
6.4 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
961 reviews
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: 8 High Street, Emsworth PO10 7AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range: $65 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Emsworth
The Crown Emsworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing