We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
36 On the Quay(Emsworth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langstone Hotel(Hayling Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
39
43
24
28
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
43
24
28
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa great place to spendsunday roastfew niggleschristmas daypielovely lunchstayed here for two nightspaulalemidlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 164 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just been to the hotel for my daughter's birthday lunch which included a speciality burger .. Yummyt! From the very extensive menu .. Cajun chicken is delicious And seems to be a favourite of the staff.
Great food great service and friendly atmosphere as per usual. .
Try the bombardier.

Will return soon!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank davidtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We came across The Crown quite by accident one evening. The band were really good and we decided to stay the night so we could both have a few drinks. I asked the landlord and paid cash for the room (nice perk for him!) He told us to find him before we wanted to go to bed as the room was "tricky to find" After a few more beers we decided to pop over the road for a curry... sat down/ordered/got drinks and then like a whirlwind of weirdness the landlord of the pub flew through the door of the Indian restaurant and demanded in a rather loud voice why we hadn't spoken to him about the room and "if you dont come over here now, you won't be able to find it" My BF and I looked at each other in total astonishment. My BF followed the rude man back to the pub and got the instructions to our room location. Luckily our food wasn't cold and to be honest we laughed at such outrageous behaviour....me thinks the landlord doth indulge a little too much in his own wears!

Our room was adequate but awful curtains that meant no possibility of a lie in. The bathroom was tiny and the toiletries not great for two people.

We were really hungry but couldn't have breakfast after last nights rude outburst from Mr Angry because my partner wouldn't have been able to bite his tongue so we left .

I would definitely return to The Crown but I honestly think that £65 is too high for what they offer with regards to a welcoming manner.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SerenityIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Crown is a traditional pub with rooms with a friendly welcome and honest service. Its not a gastro-pub or a boutique hotel and in truth the rooms are a bit faded and run down, but it has very attentive staff, good simple pub food and beer and reasonably priced rooms. The bonus is that they love dogs and we were made to feel welcome with your four legged companion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Had dinner here in April and we all thought the food was excellent. We were staying locally and didnt realise they had rooms but we popped in for a glass of wine in the afternoon and took a peep at the menu. The bar staff were freindly and helpful and we sat on a sofa by the fire with a glass of wine and a good local ale. Dinner that night was great, everyone enjoyed what they had chosen and the atmosphere was lively, helped by the Landlords sense of humour. We had a lovely waitress and she was very helpful and attentive, never forgetting to return and check we had enough drinks etc. I had the ribs which were lovely but be warned its not a small portion, there is wide choice on the menu including catch of the day, all reasonably priced. Overall I thought the place was very welcoming and relaxed with a good atmosphere. They have live music frequently so if you are staying there you may want a room away from the noise. Or just join in. On our second visit they were hosting a murder mystery with an "allo allo" theme and it was great to see how many regulars got into the spirit with the costumes. Never seen so many Flicks and Grubers not to mention french waitresses. Well done to all of you and well done to the staff and mangement for running a good pub and restaurant. I cant review the accomodation though as we didnt stay there.

Room Tip: check if theres live music if you want a room there. Otherwise book early for dinner as they do get busy
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jswainston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

The pub is a bit tired looking, dark inside and the toilets aren't clean or welcoming. Sadly there's not a lot of room to sit outside and enjoy the sun, especially once the smokers are out BUT the all-day breakfast was delicious and the service was quick

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SneekyPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews