We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good band; nice atmosphere but strange landlord!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Emsworth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good band; nice atmosphere but strange landlord!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We came across The Crown quite by accident one evening. The band were really good and we decided to stay the night so we could both have a few drinks. I asked the landlord and paid cash for the room (nice perk for him!) He told us to find him before we wanted to go to bed as the room was "tricky to find" After a few more beers we decided to pop over the road for a curry... sat down/ordered/got drinks and then like a whirlwind of weirdness the landlord of the pub flew through the door of the Indian restaurant and demanded in a rather loud voice why we hadn't spoken to him about the room and "if you dont come over here now, you won't be able to find it" My BF and I looked at each other in total astonishment. My BF followed the rude man back to the pub and got the instructions to our room location. Luckily our food wasn't cold and to be honest we laughed at such outrageous behaviour....me thinks the landlord doth indulge a little too much in his own wears!

Our room was adequate but awful curtains that meant no possibility of a lie in. The bathroom was tiny and the toiletries not great for two people.

We were really hungry but couldn't have breakfast after last nights rude outburst from Mr Angry because my partner wouldn't have been able to bite his tongue so we left .

I would definitely return to The Crown but I honestly think that £65 is too high for what they offer with regards to a welcoming manner.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SerenityIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    24
    23
    27
See reviews for
36
61
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Crown is a traditional pub with rooms with a friendly welcome and honest service. Its not a gastro-pub or a boutique hotel and in truth the rooms are a bit faded and run down, but it has very attentive staff, good simple pub food and beer and reasonably priced rooms. The bonus is that they love dogs and we were made to feel welcome with your four legged companion.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Had dinner here in April and we all thought the food was excellent. We were staying locally and didnt realise they had rooms but we popped in for a glass of wine in the afternoon and took a peep at the menu. The bar staff were freindly and helpful and we sat on a sofa by the fire with a glass of wine and a good local ale. Dinner that night was great, everyone enjoyed what they had chosen and the atmosphere was lively, helped by the Landlords sense of humour. We had a lovely waitress and she was very helpful and attentive, never forgetting to return and check we had enough drinks etc. I had the ribs which were lovely but be warned its not a small portion, there is wide choice on the menu including catch of the day, all reasonably priced. Overall I thought the place was very welcoming and relaxed with a good atmosphere. They have live music frequently so if you are staying there you may want a room away from the noise. Or just join in. On our second visit they were hosting a murder mystery with an "allo allo" theme and it was great to see how many regulars got into the spirit with the costumes. Never seen so many Flicks and Grubers not to mention french waitresses. Well done to all of you and well done to the staff and mangement for running a good pub and restaurant. I cant review the accomodation though as we didnt stay there.

Room Tip: check if theres live music if you want a room there. Otherwise book early for dinner as they do get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jswainston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

The pub is a bit tired looking, dark inside and the toilets aren't clean or welcoming. Sadly there's not a lot of room to sit outside and enjoy the sun, especially once the smokers are out BUT the all-day breakfast was delicious and the service was quick

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SneekyPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My Husband and I like to stay in a small town for a short break. Alton suited us, as we could get there in 3.1/2 hours, using our bus passes - yes we are old fuddy duddies but we love to get about a bit !!! The Crown looked like an old Pub and the "special offer price" was an advantage. We arrived early, just after lunch and a very nice young lady booked us in and showed us our twin room. It was very cold, the radiator had been turned off - so I turned it on, after 10 mins. nothing had happened, so went downstairs to find out! The same young lady explained that that the heating was on a timer, but she would switch it on there and then and 5 mins. she was back in our room with a convector electric fire, to speed things up.
We thought that was very thoughtful and a good start The room was small overlooking the back and the 2 twin beds were of a large size and very comfortable . there was a walk-in wardrobe with room for a couple of cabin trunks not just our hand luggage and every piece of furniture had drawers, so no excuse for clutter . The hospitality tray had plenty of coffee and tea, a large kettle and 2 MUGS - I hate the little teacups you get so often!! There was a flat screen TV but unfortunately on a shelf near the ceiling and watching it for more than 10 mins. gave me a crick in the neck. The bedside tables had touch lights and there was a radio alarm clock - No telephone in the room, but we mostly have mobiles now. The Bathroom was compact. The shower had a door, NOT one of those dreadful curtains that sticks to you!! 2 bottles of nice Hand wash, fortunately I always bring my own toiletries, especially to "economy hotels"
Everything was very, very clean, and for the price, we were very comfortable, the Staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do too much. We had 2 meals there which were served in the Bar (no dining room, which to me makes it a Pub, not a Hotel) The food was reasonably priced, hot and served with a smile. The Breakfast was not included in the price and there are 3 cooked types. Standard, Economy and Large (called Bad Boy!!) We had the Standard on the first day, but could not eat it all, so tried the Economy which suited us just fine and at only £2.75 was good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22oap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Arrived at the hotel after a long drive from Northumberland. Booked in by staff who were friendly and showed to my room. I can only explain it has a broom cupboard - skylight (no window) about 15 foot up in the roof. TV size of a postage stamp and the toilet/shower, lets just say if your not a model size then you will struggle. Bar meals and drink were decent and not pricey. This was a 1 night stop (business) and if it was for pleasure I would have certainly not stayed in the room allocated. I did ask to be moved but all rooms were full.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northumberlandlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Emsworth hotels

Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at the Crown Hotel for one night on New Years Eve with a friend, and I have to say that the standard of accommodation for the price (£99 for a twin ensuite room) wasn't up to scratch. The hotel needs updating throughout really, and we were informed this morning (New Years Day) that there was no breakfast available, despite being told at the time of booking that breakfast was included. As the party had gone on until 2.30am, we were all desperate for some food when we got up! Ended up having to go to a Morrisons cafe on the way home! Paul the landlord did however, refund us £20 back to cover this, though you have to pay for your room in full when you check in. The band and atmosphere on the night in the bar was great, and we had a good night, but Paul and Veronica weren't very friendly at all - in fact we were just made to feel like we were in their way in the morning. The bar staff on New Years Eve were great though, and one of the staff members did eventually make us a coffee in the morning, and ask if we'd had a good night...but he was the only person to make us feel welcome. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but the room/bathroom wasn't particularly clean. Adequate stay, but certainly not value for money, and I definitely wouldn't recommend to others, or revisit myself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
467 reviews
1.8 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,587 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
584 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Property: The Crown
Address: 8 High Street, Emsworth PO10 7AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Emsworth
The Crown Emsworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing