We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
89
93
31
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
93
31
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomplenty of parkingon arrivalfull englishmain buildingcomfortable loungedaily papersplace to stayyogurtlocal producetea coffeequiet at nightsouth downscooked breakfastb and bpubs and restaurantsexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 224 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is right on the edge of Emsworth so is easy to find and looks out over fields to the side. We had a room at the back so it was very quiet. The welcome was fine and we knew we had to pay on arrival which was not a problem (this is getting more common now). The baskets and tubs are very attractive at the front and sides of the building and it's easy to see how they have attracted awards for their displays. Our room looked out over the back patio which we felt needed a tidy up to bring it into line with the front. You are given a local map with recommended restaurants marked which we thought was a really good idea. Parking is the best we have ever seen in a small hotel. You only see staff at check-in and breakfast but you can ring the bell on reception if you need anything.

The black-out curtains were welcome but one pair needed to be refitted and looked untidy. Also some wallpaper was coming away from the wall - only small things but if you are AA 4 star and you want to stay that way these should be attended to. The entrance hall smelled strongly of what was being cooked for dinner both nights we came back in around dinner time.

Some would say the rooms look a bit old-fashioned with their dark wood furniture and patterned carpet and they do but the bathroom is modern with a good shower. Wi-Fi is free (wish that was everywhere) and the bottled water was welcome. There is only one chair in the room but the Jingles does have a guest lounge.

The breakfast room is bright and attractive, staff were friendly and swift taking orders. The fruit is tinned but you can help yourself to a selection of unpeeled fresh fruit which is good. We really liked having a choice of cooked food at breakfast - wish more hotels offered something other than the full cooked breakfast.

All in all we felt this place was worth the money and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our third visit to Jingles and this time we were in The Lodge, a completely separate house and I have to say we were not impressed. I didn't realise there even was a separate building but it is next door but one to the main house and by comparison look very ordinary. When you enter through the front door it smelt musty and has a grubby looking carpet up the stairs. Our room was small and cannot be described as 4star. We had tea & coffee but one of the cups was dirty - had we been in the main building I would have taken it down to Reception but couldn't be bothered to walk down the street! There was dust along the skirting boards so the cleaner is obviously not very thorough.

The bathroom was very cramped though shower worked fine. The breakfast is good, cooked to order and staff pleasant. It is in good posiiton for Emsworth and can thoroughly recommend Niccolinos to eat, fabulous Italian Restaurant but you need to book as very popular.

If we do go back, I will book by phone and request to be in main building, it needs some attention to detail to maintain a 4 star standard.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lodge
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Tried this having read reviews on here. Fabulous little B&B- my single room was huge with a double and a single. Spotless en-suite, with brilliant shower. Little touches in room like chocolates for the coffee, and complimentary water. Couldn't fault the breakfast -local produce. Will return

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Jingles on a week-end away with friends. It is a very pleasant and comfortable b and b. Our room which situated at the back of the property was well equipped and had a very nice view out over the garden and open countryside. Breakfast in the light and airy dining room was very good with an excellent choice of hot and cold dishes. We were able to use the lovely lounge to sit and have a drink before going out for our evening meal. Jingles is situated about a mile from the centre of Emsworth a really pretty little town on the edge of the amazing Chichester harbour. We walked into town on 3 occasions including for our evening meals and the meals at the Blue Bell Inn and Nicolino's were excellent. The longish walk to and from town was the only downside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean with all the basics. Although our room looked out onto side fence the owners had dressed it with flower baskets which was a nice touch. We were asked to pay up front which is not a problem just a little odd as the first thing before welcome. Noise from room next door was a bit annoying. Otherwise was a good clean hotel with decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews