We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of The Jingles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jingles
Ranked #2 of 5 Emsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break as a family and it was very good. The rooms were clean and both en-suite ( a double & single booked as a family room ).

Yes we paid an arrival the lady was very polite and firm about that - clearly it's their policy, no problems.

The rooms were both clean, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was very good both the full English and the smoked salmon on muffins with scrabbled eggs.

A very pleasant place to stay and we will definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landroverman0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 201 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here 4/5 years ago and had a very poor stay. Only booked it this time as its a 5 min walk to the party we were going to and it was only one night.

What a difference - nice room - choc on the coffee cups, bottles of water, free wifi and a fab breakfast (gorgeous local sausage and bacon), so for 79 quid for the both of us, pretty good value

Only minor thing was the TV signal was weak (so BBC was out).

Be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faradaywarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Booked a last minute room for a meeting in Chichester. Very friendly and professional welcome from reception. Good clean comfortable spacious room. good breakfast although more fresh fruit would have been welcome. Very functional place to stay,

Room Tip: can book double room for single occupancy for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Not quite sure what I expect from an AA four star but I guess this wasn't it! I'll start with the postives: our room was clean and warm, with a good shower. I thought the quality of the breakfast was very good, with lots of choice for vegetarians.
Now the less than satisfactory bits: no sooner than my foot was over the threshold I was asked for my credit card! Not very welcoming! And I'd checked in advance if there was somwhere safe for our two bikes. I was assured "we can secure your bikes": This meant locking them outside to a wobbly railing: as we were in the annexe and the railing was near the main house this was not ideal. Also there was a heavy frost resulting in my expensive saddle splitting by being left out all night. definitely car drivers a priority here. Also Jingles was really full so we had to queue about 15 mins for breakfast! This could have been avoided I felt by explanation in advance and perhaps suggesting we came earlier.
One more thing: although the curtains had been lined with blackout material, they were ill fitting so the light poured in around the edges!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeyh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean, quiet, warm and comfortable, with an excellent breakfast. Great shower and modern, smart en-suite. About a fifteen minute amble from the centre of Emsworth with its many and varied places to eat, its saltmarshes, tidal harbour and sea birds. The room I had compared very favourably with a good hotel, while the price was firmly in the bargain bed & breakfast category. If it had a bar and evening restaurant it would be twice the price (+ the evening meal!), but with the attractions of Emsworth walkable it is not a problem not having them. I have stayed twice now, and will certainly stay again when I need to visit the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly lady on arrival who escorted us to our spotlessly clean warm room. Well furnished with very comfortable bed, smart flatscreen tv, bottled water, tea, coffee facilities etc.

Breakfast was the highlight though. My husband had the best English Breakfast he could remember and the smoked salmon muffin I had was divine.

We have family who have moved nearby so look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreySals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Room was tiny and we had to take it in turns to move around ! Breakfast was absolutely awful - stale, must have been reheated several times. Well overpriced. Not 4 star at all.
Location was ideal for visiting friends but that's the only positive.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smirnypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
552 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#4 of 4 in Emsworth
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollybank House
Hollybank House
#3 of 5 in Emsworth
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Dairy Farm Luxury B&B and Yurts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jingles

Address: 73 77 Horndean Road, Emsworth PO10 7PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Emsworth
Price Range: $79 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jingles 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Star Bed and Breakfast Guest Accommodation with 30 en-suite bedrooms. Free Wi-Fi available. Non-smoking throughout. Ample residents parking. Excellent Full English Breakfast. Set in one acre, adjacent to open farmland. 20 Pubs/restaurants located within one mile. All rooms have Sharp 26" LCD Freeview TVs, tea/coffee making, ironing facilities and radio/alarm clocks.Please note Jingles is a Bed and Breakfast and not a full Hotel. It is rated 4 star B&B Guest Accommodation which is different from a full hotel classification. Please call if you require clarification ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Jingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jingles Hotel Emsworth
The Jingles Emsworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing