We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Comfortable Room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jingles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Jingles
Ranked #2 of 5 Emsworth B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean Comfortable Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Booked a last minute room for a meeting in Chichester. Very friendly and professional welcome from reception. Good clean comfortable spacious room. good breakfast although more fresh fruit would have been welcome. Very functional place to stay,

Room Tip: can book double room for single occupancy for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    76
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
44
66
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Not quite sure what I expect from an AA four star but I guess this wasn't it! I'll start with the postives: our room was clean and warm, with a good shower. I thought the quality of the breakfast was very good, with lots of choice for vegetarians.
Now the less than satisfactory bits: no sooner than my foot was over the threshold I was asked for my credit card! Not very welcoming! And I'd checked in advance if there was somwhere safe for our two bikes. I was assured "we can secure your bikes": This meant locking them outside to a wobbly railing: as we were in the annexe and the railing was near the main house this was not ideal. Also there was a heavy frost resulting in my expensive saddle splitting by being left out all night. definitely car drivers a priority here. Also Jingles was really full so we had to queue about 15 mins for breakfast! This could have been avoided I felt by explanation in advance and perhaps suggesting we came earlier.
One more thing: although the curtains had been lined with blackout material, they were ill fitting so the light poured in around the edges!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeyh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean, quiet, warm and comfortable, with an excellent breakfast. Great shower and modern, smart en-suite. About a fifteen minute amble from the centre of Emsworth with its many and varied places to eat, its saltmarshes, tidal harbour and sea birds. The room I had compared very favourably with a good hotel, while the price was firmly in the bargain bed & breakfast category. If it had a bar and evening restaurant it would be twice the price (+ the evening meal!), but with the attractions of Emsworth walkable it is not a problem not having them. I have stayed twice now, and will certainly stay again when I need to visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly lady on arrival who escorted us to our spotlessly clean warm room. Well furnished with very comfortable bed, smart flatscreen tv, bottled water, tea, coffee facilities etc.

Breakfast was the highlight though. My husband had the best English Breakfast he could remember and the smoked salmon muffin I had was divine.

We have family who have moved nearby so look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreySals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Room was tiny and we had to take it in turns to move around ! Breakfast was absolutely awful - stale, must have been reheated several times. Well overpriced. Not 4 star at all.
Location was ideal for visiting friends but that's the only positive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smirnypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here with family whilst celebrating a special occasion in the area. Comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean, lots of nice little touches and mine had a lovely view across the open countryside. Nothing was too much trouble for the girls - they made us feel so special. Breakfast was tasty and freshly prepared, we all had the full English and it was very nice indeed. In fact, everything was very nice indeed.

Room Tip: I had a lo of family here and so saw a few rooms. All were light and airy and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for 1 night as we had a wedding in the area. They were very accommodating and the place itself was lovely. Very easy to find with plenty of parking. Little extra touches set it above other places such as a bottle of water on arrival and the fact that they had gluten free bread. The breakfast was absolutely spot on with very good quality ingredients. All in all well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seally123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 3 in Emsworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
4.3 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jingles

Property: The Jingles
Address: 73 Horndean Road, Emsworth PO10 7PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Emsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jingles 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Star Bed and Breakfast Guest Accommodation with 30 en-suite bedrooms. Free Wi-Fi available. Non-smoking throughout. Ample residents parking. Excellent Full English Breakfast. Set in one acre, adjacent to open farmland. 20 Pubs/restaurants located within one mile. All rooms have Sharp 26" LCD Freeview TVs, tea/coffee making, ironing facilities and radio/alarm clocks.Please note Jingles is a Bed and Breakfast and not a full Hotel. It is rated 4 star B&B Guest Accommodation which is different from a full hotel classification. Please call if you require clarification ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Jingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jingles Hotel Emsworth
The Jingles Emsworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing