We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good quality hotel”
Review of Brookfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brookfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have stayed at The Brookfield previously for one night and enjoyed the experience. On this occasion we stayed for two nights. Check in procedure was swift and efficient and our standard room prepared to a good standard. Our one complaint about our room was the shower was poor, with a trickle of water rather than anything of any force. It worked but we know from our previous experience that they have better showers. My partner had a cooked breakfast which she said was very good whilst I chose croissants which were very tasty but very hard. Service was good and plenty of drinks and toast were offered to us. We used the lounge on the first evening and had a lovely relaxing time planning our summer holiday in a warm, comfortable area with a very pleasant ambience. All the staff we encountered were polite and efficient and the free wifi available was invaluable. We will use The Brookfield again when we next visit Emsworth.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and we are so pleased that overall your stay was a good experience. There is always a warm welcome here in Emsworth for you and we certainly look forward to your next visit.
I am sorry that the shower did not meet your expectations on your last visit, but should there be any similar concerns during your future visits please alert the duty manager so they can address for you immediately.
Thank you once again and hoping your next stay will be even longer,
Kindest regards,
Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 552 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked a single night away at the last minute and what a fabulous choice we made. We took advantage of the offer at the time - bed, breakfast and three course evening meal. We had a lovely spacious room, with two chairs so we could sit and read or watch the TV, rather than lounge on the bed. The bath and power shower had hot water all the time. There was plenty of comfortable seating in the lounge area and bar area, with a log fire burning, giving a really homely feel. We were very grateful for the two vegetarian options offered to us and both were very good. The wine was reasonably priced. Service was excellent, with all the staff being very friendly and extremely helpful. We would like to highly recommend the Brookfield hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadingShortbreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
WOW - thank you so much for your outstanding review - we are so pleased you chose our Hotel and that you had the Brookfield Experience the entire team here strive to provide to each and every guest. We have just launched our new short breaks brochure for 2014 so hopefully there will be something there to tempt you back to see us soon or alternatively check our website or call us for the latest offers. We look forward to welcoming you back once again and hope you will be regular visitors.
Kindest regards,
Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We never actually got to stay at the Brookfield as when we checked in on Christmas Eve, they had a power cut and ultimately we were transferred to the Langstone Hotel for our two night stay.

However, we received a very warm welcome and I have to commend the staff for the way in which they handled the situation, which could not have happened at a worse time. We were kept updated and all arrangements made for us to transfer to the Langstone. The staff made sure that we were not inconvenienced despite the fact that they were having to deal with the fact they had no electricity.

I look forward to staying at the Brookfield one day.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SnowWhite78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Public Relations Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to add your review - your comments are greatly appreciated. As you mention, the external power failure could not have come at a worse time and we are so sorry that the Christmas experience we were looking forward to providing for all our guests did not go as planned or anticipated. We were so appreciative of our guests patience and understanding through the whole unfortunate situation and the festive spirit stayed with us all. We do hope that you will be able to take advantage of the complimentary nights stay we have subsequently offered to all guests affected by the power failure so that you will be able to experience our hospitality under normal circumstances.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Kindest regards,
Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a very warm and welcoming stay here, enjoying the superb food for a family get together. The staff were al attentive and friendly, and Emsworth is just a short walk. The rooms were clean and very comfortable

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and family get together with us. We hope you will visit with us again this year - a warm welcome always awaits here at the Brookfield.
Kindest regards,
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel offers great value for money, coupled with first class service. The hotel itself has character, with ample seating in the bar and reception area. We booked a leisure break so had bed, breakfast and our evening meal included in the price. The food was of a very good quality and wine was reasonably priced. Our room on the first floor was small but well fitted out. The room was spotless and the bathroom newly decorated. We had a great stay and the staff seemed to genuinely enjoy their work. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_short327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear guest,
Wow - what a fabulous review - thank you. We indeed have a great team but is always nice to receive such positive feedback and I will ensure this is circulated accordingly.
We offer a variety of special interest or occasion packages - all representing excellent value for money - all details can be found on our website and maybe you will try one of these on your next visit.
We hope to see you again soon,
Julie Jehu
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spent three nights at the Brookfield Hotel in Emsworth. The hotel is located on the outskirts of the Village but within walking distance of the center of town. The hotel has a very pleasant staff and they were very helpful with any issues which arose during my stay. The room was well proportioned for a European hotel and the bathroom was especially large and modern. The included breakfast was exceptionally above expectations and I do recommend the Full English Breakfast. The Hotel does offer to order a newspaper and the one pound per day charge is added to the bill. The stated rate per night includes all taxes. The last morning I had to catch a flight and could not make the 7:15 start of the normal breakfast but the staff will arrange a full continental breakfast which will be delivered to your room at an earlier time - I had it delivered at 6.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMPB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review - a pleasure to read and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased you mentioned our breakfast - all freshly cooked to order, and that we were also able to accommodate your early breakfast requirement.
We hope to see you in Emsworth again in the future,
Kind regards,
Julie |Jehu
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We chose this hotel instead of booking on in Portsmouth. The hotel has a large car park and is well situated for both Portsmouth and Chichester. On arrival we were not happy with our allocated room and this was changed immediately. The hotel has upgraded the rooms, nice bathrooms however the bedding remains of a budget standard which is disappointing, I think the hotel have missed a trick here. Breakfast is excellent although service was slow. The one thing that really does stand out are the staff who are friendly and professional. During our stay a local charity event was held, this did cause problems if you wanted to meet and have a coffee in the lounge, but it was a good cause and it was nice to see the hotel supporting a local charity.

Room Tip: We moved to a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bshawManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review - all feedback is appreciated and invaluable to us.

We are very proud of our staff and I am pleased once again to read that their friendliness and professionalism has shone through.

We are in the process of refurbishing and upgrading our bedrooms so I am delighted to read that you like the improvements we are making.....this is a rolling programme but our 2 brand new executive rooms are simply divine.

I was disappointed that the bedding did not meet your expectations and will liaise with our Housekeeping Manager to check the quality of all bedding items.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Brookfield again in the future and you may want to treat yourself to a stay in our Master Suite - complete with contemporary 4 poster bed.

Kind regards,
Julie
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
1.4 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,797 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#4 of 4 in Emsworth
160 reviews
4.4 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
1.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield Hotel

Address: 93 Havant Road, Emsworth PO10 7LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range: $68 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brookfield Hotel, Emsworth is ideally situated - right on the boundary between West Sussex and South Hampshire. Portsmouth and Chichester are both within 10 miles of the hotel and the No 700 bus-stop is right outside; so no need to get caught in the traffic. The small market town of Emsworth, between the maritime heritage of Portsmouth and the English cathedral city of Chichester, is a quite and attractive, yet vibrant and dynamic community, where the residents would not live anywhere else, and visitors are sure of a friendly welcome. The Brookfield Hotel has 39 bedrooms, all fully en suite with comfortable beds and all amenities. The Hermitage Restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with morning coffee and afternoon tea in between. Whether you are a hotel resident or not, you will always be welcome. Conferences, weddings, christenings, funeral teas and all family or business occasions can be arranged by the professional team at The Brookfield Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Brookfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Emsworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing