We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really delicious”
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Emsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“really delicious”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've never eaten at the restaurant, but have got take away multiple times now. The dining room doesn't do much for me, not sure I would want to eat there, but the food is really great. Their standard curries like tikka masala have more depth of flavour than your average take away, their onion bahjis aren't too greasy, and we trust them enough to try a new dish each time we order. Delivery time is always fairly quick. Overall, just a really good, trustworthy take away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    41
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small venue with big taste”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We eat here regularly because the service is so friendly especially when you compare it to the larger, plusher restaurant next door! The Chicken Shashlik didn't sizzle but couldn't be faulted nevertheless and the had a very good amount of chicken. My husband's meal filled a very big hole and they are always more than happy to vary the recipe to our taste. Hubby was particularly happy to find they do Cobra on draught!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clungtown
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still the best curry house between Chichester and Portsmouth”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I returned to Taste of India recently to have a meal with friends. The food is as good as ever, and I think the prices are still the same as a year ago! The service is attentive and discreet: some loud idiots started playing a video/music on their phone and the manager was able to politely but firmly shut them up. It was quiet early on but soon most of the tables were taken even though it was a lazy Sunday.

Still a favourite, and you still need to book!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great curry, busy but still good service !”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We read upon this little gem on trip advisor, and decided to phone and book, good job we did because they were packed all night. With an apparent endless stream of take aways being called for as well !

We were seated promptly and politely, although the restaurant was busy as well as the take away, we were given first class service, not rushed or forgotten as some will !

The food was excellent with all 3 of us very happy with our choices and the superb presentation and taste.

As others have alluded to its not surprising that next door was almost empty as was their car park, we parked in a public car park just down towards the harbour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank landroverman0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere in small place”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was staying with a cousin in Emsworth and she had not been before but had been to the bigger place next door. She preferred the Taste of India. The,service was good, as was the food. People
Came and went for their takeaways and it was all calm and efficient. Orders were also delivered quickly and efficiently. The price was reasonable. We went early on a Thursday and hadn't booked but I guess booking is essential at weekends and holidays. I would go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillS104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

Westbourne, West Sussex
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Emsworth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Emsworth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing