We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast, but otherwise only for hard-core B&Bers since there are better hotels nearby cheaper”
Review of B&B Millers House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Millers House
Ranked #4 of 5 Emsworth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast, but otherwise only for hard-core B&Bers since there are better hotels nearby cheaper”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at a couple of places in the area during a month and tried this place because of its rating and for variety.

This is essentially a large private house hidden away in a private development/gated area. This means that finding it's a pain and arriving outside of a narrow window needs to be organised. Arriving late (ie a normal drive from London) caused email exchanges. Not idea.

When there it's a clean, modern house, well-appointed and no complaints - except that it feels like 'being sent to one's room'! No lounge or relaxation area - just a room with a tv. Ugh. If you're used to B&Bs then this won't be a problem. I didn't like it.

Like another guest I didn't have any towels and an early-morning wander failed to find the host's area so I chanced on a drying room and took some. The owners was apologetic and friendly, but again not a hotel.

The breakfast was slow in arriving, but I must say it was really good. Well cooked, healthy and nicely-presented. This was the highlight.

I'm unlikely to return since, for less money, there are solid hotels around (see my other reviews on these).

Were it not for the brekkie this would have been a 2-star rating.

In summary, please do adjust this rating for your own attitude towards B&Bs, but if you're looking at this at the same time as other hotels in the area then my rating is consistent with my assessment of those.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianjindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
29
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night and it was fantastic, room was clean, light and airy, bed very comfortable, great shower and super soft towels. For a business traveller who over the years has been away for too many nights it was like a breath of fresh air and having free wi-fi that worked was a real plus.
Its location is superb - within easywalking distance of Emsworth and its numerous bars, restaurants and pubs which cater for all palate as well as a quaint harbour.
Breakfast with fresh orange juice, proper coffee and the best scrambled egges I have had in years was a delight.
Will I return - simple answer - yes!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

what a way to run a b&b
no towels were supplied in the room but i did not realise until too late so
i improvised
next day i received a series of e-mails accusing me of stealing the towels as the owner
had check lists and inventories that proved i had taken them and had contacted lastminute.com
to tell them

most upsetting and unfriendly

only later when the towels were found did the apology come

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Millers were happy to take my booking for 2 adults, 1 child and our 2 dogs. The room itself was spotless. It was tastefully furnished and had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom had an amazing walk in shower. There was tea and coffee, which was very welcome after our journey. There was also a widescreen tv.

The b&b is located behind a security gate on a private road, so it felt quite exclusive.

Breakfast was wonderful. All our requirements were met. The food was beautifully cooked and presented.

The owner was friendly and welcoming. She even managed to find me a corkscrew because ours broke.

I would highly recommend Millers.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1st floor olive suite which is a family room. As it is up some steep stairs it may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night so that I could go for a meeting and its was fabulous!

I did struggle slightly to find it but margita the owner stayed on the phone and talked me in.

The B and B is in what appears to be in a barn conversion and the decor inside is beautiful with oak floors throughout! There is a small lounge area which is beautifully decorated and has a wood burning fire in it, this is also where breakfast is served.

I stayed in the citrus suite which was immaculately clean. The bathroom was superb with a lovely black marble double waterfall shower which was better than I've had in 5 star hotels!!

I chose to have breakfast which was an extra £7.50 but well worth it... Everything was perfectly cooked and filled me up for the day!!

I will definitely be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

i booked millers house for a weekend based on reviews,large modern rooms with super comfy beds, although our room had a nice sofa it was under the eaves so could not use as you would hit your head ! lovely wet room with shower but the bath towells hardley fit around you,needs much larger towells or perhaps bathrobes,tea and coffee tray but no hairdryer ? cooked breakfast available at £7.50 per person this is nice but no choices are given of what you may like everyone gets the same,there were cereals and juice but no fresh fruit or pastries.the owner is friendly and attentive,A few added extra,s in bathrooms and at breakfast would change this place from very good to fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Lovely house,served,by a gated drive. Warm welcome.
Modern bedroom with all that is needed,ensuite facilities,tv,and tea making facilities.
Great breakfast.Should win a design award.
I would highly reccommend if you want a good stay close to Emsworth, especially close to the train station

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-met
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emsworth
0.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#4 of 4 in Emsworth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
593 reviews
3.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Millers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Millers House

Property: B&B Millers House
Address: 8 Northlands Park, Emsworth PO10 7EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Emsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Millers House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millers House is a newly build country barn type house offering bed and breakfast guest accommodationThe house is set in 1.5 acre of privately owned landscaped grounds with private drive and security access control. The residents have their own access to beautiful country walks.House is ideally set in 5 min walking distance to Emsworth historic maritime town centre and 2 min walk to Emsworth railway station with good connections to Portsmouth, Chichester, Brighton, Southampton and London.We are offering 2 high quality en-suite large double bed rooms in the main house and one detached self-contained studio accommodation with upstairs bedroom and downstairs living/dining and entertainment area.Guests have their own access to gardens for quite relaxation or barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Millers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Millers House Emsworth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing