We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor and sticky floors (not sure what makes them sticky!)”
Review of Litten Tree - CLOSED

Cuisines: British, Pub
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Poor and sticky floors (not sure what makes them sticky!)”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Went here as Wagon Works was packed out - Litten Tree was barely busy on a Saturday night at 9pm so tells its own story. Not a great location not a great bar.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    8
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother !”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

So 13 of us had a great time celebrating our Xmas do in
Eastleigh, done some bowling, went for a curry, then thought we would go for a drink. We arrived at the Litten Tree, only to met by a doorman / bouncer demanding
ID, well some of us 40 year olds were not carrying passports or driving licences for ID. He then demanded our names and dates of birth as condition of entry. I was happy to give my name but not my date of birth, so I was refused entry. So my friends and i left, but not before i spoke to the doorman about their reasons for refusing us entry. When I asked why he needed my date of birth he said it was for Health and Safety. When I asked him specifically what the Health and Safety aspect was, he couldn't give me an answer. When I asked to speak to the manager, a man came out and said he was the head doorman, his opening gambit was "whats the problem". I explained why I was not happy, and he said it was their condition of entry. I know for a fact that there were about 5 customers sat in that pub, on a Saturday night, and I think I know the reason why. As it was not a particularly friendly welcome, my friends and I moved on to the local Wetherspoons just round the corner. We were allowed entry without any ridiculous questioning, the bar was busy and the atmosphere great, and we had a great night. Save yourselves the bother and give the Litten Tree a miss.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray1763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

2 meals for For £6.95 we had Fish and Chips.......... We were surprised at the quality and size of the portion we recieved........... Yes it is a pub by night but the cleaners work hard to achieve the cleanliness for the daytime trade, The staff are always very cheerful and smile,
We did enjoy our lunch thank you

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunloverhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A bit of a rough joint.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Working away I came here to see man city batter man u in their first derby together this season. As I walked in,it has lots of screens and seats. However
It was full of mostly feisty half drunk locals or is that me being an outsider. Your choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cheap, decent food”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I went for lunch here with my partner.
The quality and price was excellent. The service was good.
The place could do with a bit of TLC as the seats were ripped and patched up and the table was sticky, but for what you get, it's all good.
There are a lot of seniors who go in there for lunch, but nothing to put you off.
Give it a go

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Litten Tree also viewed

Eastleigh, Hampshire
Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh
 
Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing