We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming property and great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Rambler Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rambler Cottage
Stable Entrance Stable entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Rambler Cottage
Stable Entrance
Stable entrance
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Welcome pack
The Drove
Rambler Cottage at the back
The cottage from the Stable
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eastleigh, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
poliver1
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming property and great location”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Having stayed in several cottages over the years ( all of them nice) we would not have expected the step up in quality given the price of the rental.
The stable was very comfortable and perfect for us, I really find it hard to suggest any improvements that could be made.
I would very much recommend The Stable for its location, for it's facilities and for the way the owners Hilary and Mike made us feel so welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We really do appreciate the feedback as our aim is to make a stay with us that extra bit special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnsonhe...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a jem of a place, beautiful setting and surroundings. Hilary and Mike were the perfect hosts. The Lemon Drizzle Cake waiting for us upon arrival is certainly worth a mention, not just because it tasted delicious but it is just another indication how much Hilary makes you feel welcome.The cottage had every thing we needed and was so cosy, perfectly situated for various activities but also beautifully secluded where you can just sit back and relax if you wish. This is one of the best places we have stayed in and would not hesitate to recommend it to any one looking to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
Thank you so much for your glowing review.. we were very touched.
Sadly despite all our glowing references we cannot get a certificate of excellence from Trip Advisor because although we meet the quality criteria we do not pay them enough!!
We do not use their online booking or pay them per booking we receive as we have an annual contract.
So this is nothing to do with excellence in the end as it seems a money making racket!! We were so disappointed to find this out as comments like yours give us a real boost and it would have been nice to get an official recognition.
At least the English Tourist Board awards are not linked to how much you spend with them
Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbarlo...
Canvey island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The stable , perfect break”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Absolutely perfect venue for a break down on the south coast , from the welcome to the good bye , made to feel so at home .... wonderful time ... wonderful stable conversion , will be returning as most seem to when you read the guest book

Quite simply perfect 5*

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your glowing report. It is very encouraging for us as we want everyone to feel special when they are away on a break.
We do hope to see you again and look forward to visiting Canvey Island soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scouser93...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Family Friendly Cottage”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This Location was Perfect for us - The Cottage itself was all you could wish for & the Welcome Pack was a great help. Would like to thank Hilary & Mike for there help during our stay we would certainly visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2017
Thank you so much for those kind words. it was a pleasure to have you with us and to meet some of your family who live near to us on such a special occasion as a wedding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peeboin
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in the countryside”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location of the stable is superb, close to Southampton and Portsmouth, yet so peaceful and quiet.
We stayed for 3 nights in March 17. On arrival, we received the best welcome pack anyone could asked for, homemade cake, bread and preserves along with milk, butter, cereal, fruit and many other useful items for our stay.
The Stable is very clean and comfortable. Everything you need for a break has been provided. Good size rooms and bathroom. The property was lovely and warm and the only noise was the bird son which was a pleasure.
Hilary and Mike are a very friendly couple who go that extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay.
We hope to be back for another visit as soon as possible

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2017
Thank you so much our dear guests for your very kind comments. It was so nice having you here and having such an interesting chat with you before you left. We love your Bongo and have today viewed a converted one in Southampton but too expensive! We'll keep looking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth and...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real home from home”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Stable at Rambler Cottage is an excellent holiday accommodation in a quiet and peaceful location, with all the facilities one could wish for.
The Welcome Pack was exceptional and most welcome.
Hilary and Mike were wonderful hosts and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Wether staying in for a peaceful break or going out and about, the Stable is in an ideal location, with easy access for Eastleigh, Southampton and Portsmouth and Winchester.
Hedge End Railway Station is only a short drive away for venturing further afield .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear how we meet our guests expectations. We are, as you say quite central for visiting a lot of Hampshire attractions and try to provide a nice cosy refuge to return to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireS43...
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in wonderful little cottage”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a lovely stay here for three nights last weekend. We were in the area to watch the football at Southampton and it was perfectly placed being only 20-30 minutes drive from Southampton. Yes the cottage is 'cozy' but it had everything we needed for our short break. The directions provided on the website are clear and accurate and meant we found the place with no problem, even in the dark and with torrential rain. The welcome pack was much appreciated after a long drive. There is also a Marks and Spencers and Sainsbury's within 10 minutes drive for any other essentials you need. The kitchen had every utensil and appliance that you could need - the best stocked of anywhere we've ever stayed. So you'll have no problem if you want to eat in, although we would thoroughly recommend the Toby Carvery in Eastleigh - make sure you book at the weekend though.
The only small negative of the cottage is the low ceiling in the bathroom. When in the shower I had to stoop, so if you are taller than 6ft this will be the case. However please don't let this put you off. If we're ever in the area again we'll be sure to book here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2017
Thank you for such lovely comments.
Unfortunately we can't raise the ceiling height in the shower without the raising the whole roof of the Stable, which housed a horse, tackle and hay for many years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing