We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accomodation, hosts and location”
other travelers have booked this property
Rambler Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rambler Cottage
Stable Entrance Stable entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Rambler Cottage
Stable Entrance
Stable entrance
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Welcome pack
The Drove
Rambler Cottage at the back
The cottage from the Stable
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eastleigh, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
chas w
totland bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accomodation, hosts and location”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is our fourth time of staying here.As usual the cottage was immaculate and tastefully decorated throughout The location of this place is also quite and peaceful in that it is tucked away down a quite lane away from other traffic and noise.There is all you need here either for a short term or longer stay.Mike and Hilary are very warm and welcoming and even supply a welcome pack to get you started.They are also v helpful for directions and any issues that you need help with.We stayed this year to watch the test match at the Ageas Bowl which is only a ten minute journey.There is a lot to do and see locally and most within half an hour from the cottage.There are some good local pubs for food as well as the Arturi garden center with a good restaurant which does v good breakfasts before you set off for your day.Thanks again Mike and Hilary for having us back again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location , quiteness and hospitality
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Yes Chas we are near the Ageas for cricket fans, Winchester, 4 Garden centres with restaurants and Southampton for Saints football & plenty of shopping. Near us in Fair Oak is a good Indian Restaurant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Cottage”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Hilary and Mike are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. The cottage is comfortable and quiet with all the amenities needed for our 2 week stay. We were within a short driving distance of the cathedral cities, National Trust properties, charming towns and villages and Roman sites. We also enjoyed local walks in the countryside, including the New Forest. Farm shops and pick-your-own fruit are close by. A great location for visiting Hampshire/E Sussex and Dorset. Highly recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G
Merseyside, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Hilary and Mike are extremely welcoming and the little pack of essentials, as well as the small gift for our son, seemed such a lovely gesture. The property was immaculate with everything we needed. The location was perfect, close to transport links and local attractions but also lovely and quiet. This is an ideal place to stay if you are travelling with an infant as there are the amenities of home; a washing machine to ensure a ready supply of clean clothes and bibs, the microwave and fridge which we feel is essential for the preparation and storage of feeds. There is ample space in the bedroom for a travel cot and a real feeling of being in your own space with no worries about being disturbed by other guests as you may be in a hotel.
It really does feel like a home away from home and the complete antithesis of an impersonal chain hotel. Staying here made our holiday perfect and we would love to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Ideal in every way”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

After a four week rental, we have nothing but good to say about our stay there.
The right size , right location, right everything.
Hilary and Mike are great hosts and there if you need anything.
Thanks heaps
I shall miss feeding the birds!
We will Be back.
Ken and Karen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lushcream...
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely week away”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My partner & I have just spent a week staying here. Lovely couple who run this are very friendly and we appreciated the little extras like the welcome pack eg. bread fruit milk cake etc. Plenty of info inside re things to do in the area. Considering the age of the cottage we were especially surprised at the cleanliness & general condition of the cottage. This couple reminds you how service used to be in the past. Still good to see a couple so proud of their cottage and willing to go that extra mile to make sure you are comfortable & happy. My wife & I thank you for a lovely week. Cheers.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla...
London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A temple of love and relax”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I went at the Stable at Rambler Cottage to celebrate my birthday for a long weekend. The first impression said it all! An amazing cottage with a radiant garden full of wonderful flowers and many colourful vegetables. The Stable is just behind the Rambler Cottage. Mike and Hilary are the perfect host: cake, fruit, milk, butter, jam, lovely bread (and much more) all was there for us, organic and handmade (cake and bread so good!). Extremely clean, cosy and very organised. There were instruction to make the best use of everything in the cottage (shower, central heating, how to dispose of the rubbish etc. etc.). We truly loved our stay. We slept like babies and had long walks. If you are looking for somewhere to rest, this is the place. You'll need a car if you wish to explore the surroundings. We hope to get back soon for another romantic break! Thanks Hilary and Mike xx

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelandLy...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional cottage stay at The Stable”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Hilary and Mike have thought of everything the traveller might need to have a home away from home. It is in an excellent position for visiting a wide range of interesting historical, cultural and scenic activities.
The stables are adjacent to their thatched cottage and garden which is welcoming in itself but Hilary and Mike's warmth and generosity seal the knowledge of making the right choice. Other reviews comment on the home baked items and the facilities which we found to be the same.
This is our third trip driving around the UK over 16 weeks and this is the best b&b/ self-catered accommodation we have stayed in.
As there were more points of interest than we planned for we would be looking to book again when we return from Australia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire package was outstanding.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing