We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub is now a good Indian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badi Mirchi

Badi Mirchi
Ranked #19 of 117 Restaurants in Eastleigh
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Burnham on Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pub is now a good Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Opposite the Holiday Inn at Eastleigh this offers a good alternative to their restaurant - no queues, no screaming children but a good welcome and plenty of excellent dishes. Try the biryanis which have been slow cooked overnight - excellent - some of the best.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    86
    37
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I really enjoy indian food, so don't waste your time going here. The sauce here comes out of catering packs without question. The first give away is the total lack of smell of curry, if the place doesn't smell of curry spices you are not going to get any authentic indian cuisine. It's just like chicken in a thick soup, no spices, no onions and no flavour, Kentucky chicken done indian style done badly. If you want a real indian dinner don't go here... Badi Mirchi, Shan
Me on you, do it right and people will come from miles away, carry on with this, kiss goodbye to your business!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stick to the savoury!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Ate here last week following a lovely first visit 6 months prior. Starters and mains all very good and enjoyed by all, so tucked in to a traditional dessert of Gulab Jaman. What went wrong I thought. Delicious and sweet doughy cardamon balls...spoilt with a Italian chocolate wafer, squirty strawberry sauce you would expect on kids ice cream, bundled on top of .... A water biscuit. A flaming water biscuit. Someone was seriously taking the water biscuit more like. It just didn't work and was laughable. Also I might add, the sprig of mint to finish this delight had a caterpillar crawling over it and gnawed the leaf I as I gnawed my chaotic dessert.

The menus include the 'Chefs recommendations'. Can I recommend they lose the desserts or dramatically improve them!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Burty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“1st class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Ate here on Friday night along with my wife and 2 year old boy,having had a long day at peppa pig world and staying in the holiday inn across the road it seemed like a good idea to nip across the road to eat here.the service from all staff was great and the food was out of this world,up there with the best Indians I've had.cannot praise this place highly enough,who couldn't do enough for us.would love to have a restaurant like this back home,will def return again,some day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank selkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
“Fabulous food everytime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The food is delicious, I have been many times and the food and service never disappoints. I brought along a couple of friends and they loved the food they had Goanes Prawns curry and Rara Gohst (lamb dish). Look forward to my next visit, see you soon guys!

Helpful?
Thank LOVEFOODJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badi Mirchi also viewed

Eastleigh, Hampshire
Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh
 
Eastleigh, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Badi Mirchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing