We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of The Hurdles

The Hurdles
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Droxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went with friends on a cold (Spring ?) mid-week night and had an excellent evening. The staff were welcoming and friendly and appeared at all the right times. The menu gave enough choices to be interesting and when the food arrived it was beautifully cooked and presented. Portions are generous and when the banana and walnut cake arrived we were so glad we hadn't ordered starters as well !! Add to that a good selection of wines and it results in a very very good meal. Would I recommend it to friends - no, because it might reduce our chances of getting a table next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    89
    45
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service was excellent, the food fabulous and the atmosphere peaceful and relaxing. Tables far enough apart to not have to listen to other diner's conversation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellcee5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely birthday meal!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A table was booked here for 10 of us for a family birthday and I couldn't be happier with the food, service or overall experience. The food was delicious, I would say normally in a larger party somebody has a little something they are not quite happy with but very untrue here. We received a warm welcome and were given great service despite our table being booked on a very busy Easter Monday when the staff were clearly busy. Looking forward to our next visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

You are always guaranteed a warm welcome from the staff, and the menu offers a variety of tastey and imaginative dishes. Go on, try it when you are in the area. You will not be disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Midweek evening supper”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Droxford area. Booked this after stopping for a coffee. Really liked the decor and layout, plenty of space. Very friendly helpful staff. Absolutely fabulous scallops starter wished we ordered that for starter main and dessert. Mains were ok but not to the same standard beef and ale pie solid but not outstanding, chicken with gnocchi rich cream sauce too much gnocchi, no vegetables. We enjoyed but not quite so rave as others

Helpful?
Thank Sussexexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hurdles also viewed

 
Soberton, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 
Bishop's Waltham, Hampshire
 

Been to The Hurdles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing