We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gastro Pub worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hurdles

The Hurdles
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hurdles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Droxford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A Gastro Pub worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I went with a friend for a quick pub lunch. It was far more than just pub grub. We both had fish and chips followed by apple and mincemeat crumble with brandy cream. Both were excellent. All the staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The service was quick and efficient. In addition there was a very good selection of beers on tap. Goddards Fuggle (from a micro brewery on the Isle of Wight) was absolutely brilliant. I would unhesitatingly recommend this gastro pub and I shall certainly go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    83
    41
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thidr visit... Continues to be good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Another excellent lunch. Beautifully prepared, excellent value, relaxed ambience, attentive service. Sophisticated without being pretentious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Crumble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went for lunch today and can highly recommend. The service is friendly and efficient and for a Meon Valley pub, it is good value for money. The food was great but the highlight was the amazing apple and mincemeat crumble which was the best I have ever tasted. Well done the Hurdles. We will definitely revisit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alun r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superb meal again, and a great welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We frequently visit here because the welcome is great, and the food is superb. We took family last night and even though they were extremely busy, they fitted us in and there was no disappointment on the service. We didn't have starters, just shared a plate of breads and roasted garlic (recommended) and went straight to main courses. I couldnt decide what to have between fillet of sea bream and in the end, on a recommendation, chose the slow cooked blade of beef. It was definitely a good choice, having been cooked slowly for hours and just fell apart. My husband had steak, and the others had the sea bream and guinea fowl breast. The service is always lovely here andvery friendly, although it would be great to have the water poured and glasses topped up without having to ask for another round, but that's such a minor bit feedback, and not a critisism. Its a great pub with an excellent menu, fresh veg, and the Sunday roasts are well worth going for.

Helpful?
Thank KatrinaStamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

4 of us went for a pre-Xmas lunch. We ordered a bottle of wine and the waitress filled the large wine glasses on the table to the brim, to the extent that the 4th person was served 1/3 glass to finish the bottle - it wasn't a great start, someone needs some training! The food was at best average, the chicken livers starter was good, the rest of the dishes 5/10. Wish it was better, nice setting, food and service let it down.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Topcat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hurdles also viewed

Droxford, Hampshire
Soberton, Hampshire
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to The Hurdles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing