We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother booking for a party”
Review of White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Hart
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Hants, Uk
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Don't bother booking for a party”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for function. Food pretty much average, service at the bar was abysmal. Staff not interested in serving customers. Coffee served with double cream that was almost clotted. Worst was being thrown out of the tiny private area at 11pm despite the organisers having spent a small fortune! Shocking service & mediocre food, would not return. Is this really the best Andover has to offer? At least the Danebury will soon be a 4* hotel for central Andover.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreboGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    48
    36
    26
    20
See reviews for
33
57
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Thank you White Hart. Even tho I booked THREE Rooms! A party for my Wife inc Catering and your in house DJ ( SEVERAL 100's of £'s ) . YOU FORGOT to leave Tea and Coffee and milk in MY Room! I paid for everything , and during a restless night , COULDN'T EVEN have a cup of Coffee ggrrrrrr, and with no Staff on duty over night aaaaargh!!!! BUT, the food , the Service apart from my lack of caffeine , was really good.... Thank you. I was Disappointed that Management did NOT even apologise for my room shortages :( Customer Care and Concern could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton,Bolton.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed at the White Hart many times mainly because it is so convenient for visiting my son. The staff are lovely but I feel they are fighting a losing battle. Every time we stay there is a problem. Usually a maintenance problem. Windows wont open, shower doesn't work, plug doesn't fit bath,no hair drier,light doesn't work. We have always put up with it. We stayed last weekend. We wont stay again. It was the hottest weekend of the year. The heated towel rails cant be turned off. They are on all night. The floor in the room was hot because the pipes ran under it. The window wouldn't open. We had to ask for a fan. Were told they did not need to supply them. A very nice cleaner got us one. The shower was barely a trickle after we had sweated in the sauna of a room all night. Am sure it must be illegal to have to put up with temperatures like that. Staff said heated towel rails cant be turned off. Rubbish. Get it sorted White Hart. We are looking for somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Andover hotels

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A superb hotel recently managed by Marstons Brewery! The restaurant serves good every day fayre and rooms are ideal for business or pleasure. Friendly service and some excellent specials including house red and white French wines at £6.99 per bottle!! Parking is limited but Hotel is right in the centre of town and lots of public car parks nearby! Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: King Charles I was reputed to have stayed here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRYONEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had a double room for a overnight stay and wasnt too impressed, the panel on the bath was hanging off (reported this and was told someone was probably messing about?) , found a half eaten sandwich in the bin, on a plus note the bed was clean although only one towel was provided.
At breakfast we had to ask for juice as the jugs were empty.
I asked for a bacon toasted sandwich for breakfast , my wife a sausage sandwich, after which 2 cremated sausage sandwiches arrived , not toasted and no butter on ..we then decided we had enough..wont be returning here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
888 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 863 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here 1 night on Bussiness in May '13.

The location of the Hotel is perfect for the Town Centre - it's right in the heart of the town and everywhere is an easy walk. There's a 24 Hr ASDA a 5 to 10 min walk away as well.

One of my pet dislikes is finding Hotels reception is unmanned (That bits fine - nowhere can man all the time) but then finding that the one barmaid on duty in the bar is doing reception and you have to kind of pull them away fom one job to do another. Not the Barmaid / receptionists fault - sha was polite attentive and couldn't be more helpfull - just hate those "Unmannned - please see staff at bar" issues.

The Hotel is in an old building so it has real charachter - stairs a tad steep and corridors a tad narrow BUT all the nicer for it. Room was big - nice fittings and bedding. Wifi was fee and didnt need pesky passwords or resets - big plus !

Had an evening meal - service was fast and pleasant and the food was fine.

The bathroom was contemporary (stylish plumbing etc) but the water pressure was v v low so if you use too much of the very nice free shower gell it can take forever to rinse off.

All in all a reasonable average hotel - Plus points Good free wifi - town centre location charachter and rooms. Minus water pressure and check in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Nice old building BUT the room we had was very small and on the front of the building. It had no double glazing or net curtain so was noisy and no privacy. No telephone, hair drier or hot water in the shower. Floor and cupboard creak every time you walk past. No, apparent, facilities for disabled and stairs to rooms very steep. Breakfast quite good but ask for your tea or coffee or you don't get any.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
0.1 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#3 of 8 in Andover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Andover Hotel
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Andover
Quality Hotel Andover
#8 of 8 in Andover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
3.8 mi away
Peat Spade Inn
Peat Spade Inn
#1 of 2 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart

Property: White Hart
Address: 12 Bridge Street, Andover SP10 1BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart is an impressive building with history dating to the time of Charles I, with 22 querky rooms reflecting the age of the property each with their own appeal and character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Andover
White Hart Hotel Andover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing