We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Carvery”
Review of The Star & Garter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Star & Garter
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Enjoyed an excellent carvery in the restaurant, good choice of meats, vegetables not to mention the Yorkshire puddings. If you don't fancy the carvery there are a choice of other dishes. Would I go again Oh yes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnctindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 258 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed o/nt (mid-week) at the Star and Garter ( a City Lodge Hotel) in Andover. Centrally situated in town.
Accommodation very good, staff most courteous and helpful and the carvery was excellent @ £5.95 pp, with desserts @ £3.99. A 2 course meal for under £10.00!!
Hotel and restaurant were busy - another good sign of value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were recently in the area and wanted a quick stop off and the Star & Garter was well reviewed.

For this sort of price (we paid £69), it is good value and what you would hope for and expect. The hotel has recently been refurbished and looks very smart from the outside and the rooms were fresh modern and clean, which is good. We did eat in the restaurant as we arrived late and the menu had many of the usual staples; fish and chips, home made curry, steak, scampi etc plus a carvery option (meat and vegetarian options) (From £6-10 dependant on day or weekend). The breakfast options are cooked and continental from £7.95 per person. I would not say the food is fantastic but it was warm and ok, again good for the price.

The only thing we would say is that as the hotel is on the high street (and we were there of a weekend) There is a good deal of noise, at least if you have a room at the front of the hotel, with the revellers/passers by on the street below for us, this was until 2-3am in the morning. We are not usually light sleepers, or, easily disturbed which is why we mention it. There is also noise from other residents as the room walls do seem a bit thinner than in some with some of the doorways and entrances very close to one another.

All said, a reasonably priced, clean hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridakeys2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had a problem on arrival as there were 4 of us men that had booked 2 twins. We were not impressed that one of the twins had been given to someone else and one of us had to have a put up bed. However, they did give us free breakfasts after we pestered. In fact, the staff were very nice and helpful.
However, the main complaint was the noise. I was in a room at the front and there were very loud people right outside until past 3am. I know this is not the hotels fault but we simply could not sleep. Bearing in mind its location I would guess it is quite a common occurance. Also, we all felt that the beds were far to spongy and uncomfortable.
Breakfast itself was fine. It was the usual help yourself to cereals and english breakfast.
Price was ok - £70 per room plus another £8 if you want breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I had a superb lunch on a dreary day in this clean looking Hotel. We were first into the carvery restaurant, just after 12pm and were warmly greeted by the waiting staff . The carvery consisted of gammon,turkey and beef and the usual vegetables. The chef cut big slices of each meat and we could help ourselves to the vegetables. The cost was only £5.99 during the week, £7.99 at weekends.We sat next to the window and watched the world walk past.
This was a superb lunch,large quantities of tasty food.The waiting staff were attentive,quick and efficient and nice.By the time we left, the room was busy.
I cannot comment upon anything else about the Hotel,just the carvery.There is a car park at the back of the Hotel but I do not know if you can use it if you just have lunch.Ask beforehand.
RECOMMENDED.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel to break up our drive from Kent to Devon for a golfing break. I booked two twin rooms four days before we travelled and it was a bargain at £140 for all of us for a Thursday night. Unfortunately when we arrived, the hotel had given one of the twin rooms to a disabled couple who arrived earlier. However we managed to negotiate four free breakfasts for the hassle and the hotel offered a z-bed for the double room - although it was commented that this was the best bed as the other mattresses were very soft. The hotel looked very nice after the refurb but the final touches were a little shabby in a few areas. The staff were incredibly friendly and the breakfast was very good which helped move our stay in to 'Very Good'. I think I would have stretched to 'Excellent' if the staff had offered the free breakfasts rather than having spend a good 5 minutes negotiating. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There was some noise from the high street for one of our rooms so ask for one facing the car park if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Friendly staff, the room was clean . The bed was comfortable. Good food. Would definitely recommend. Park in front of hotel and go to reception for instructions for access of car park at rear of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubblejak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
0.6 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#6 of 8 in Andover
205 reviews
6.3 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Andover hotel
11.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star & Garter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star & Garter

Address: 2 High Street, Andover SP10 1NX, England (Formerly Danebury Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Andover
Price Range: $48 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star & Garter 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star and Garter Hotel is in the very centre of Andover overlooking the market square. This historic Hotel built in 1770 has been completely refurbished. All rooms with en suite bath and power shower , all bedrooms have flat screen television with freeview and free wifi. We have a bar which is open from 5.30 pm serving a variety of snack meals. Our popular breakfast is served 7 mornings a week. There is ample free parking. To find our car park use the post code for the rear of the hotel which is SP10 1PB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Star & Garter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danebury Hotel Andover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing