We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub, great food, great staff, great dog” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Ranked #5 of 117 Restaurants in Andover
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Pub, great food, great staff, great dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I have visited this wonderful pub several times, on occasions with our friend Pumba. We are always greeted most warmly by Matt and his super staff, making our visit a lovely experience. The food, drink and service are as good as the best we have enjoyed anywhere in the world. The chefs are experienced Thais and will make the varied menu as spicy (or not) as you like. During the winter the fires blaze away giving a warm atmosphere. The pub is also open all day so a nice watering hole on a warm summer day. Finally you will love Django the star of the show. He is really in charge and welcomes dogs, especially Labradors like him!

You won't be disappointed with this one.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxyfun, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello there and thanks for your review.

Django has been on at me for some time to respond.
We really appreciate your kind comments, we do try very hard to please.
Django especially likes the company of fellow Labs...especially girl Labs.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
Matt, & Team Fox and of course Django.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    60
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We booked a table for four at the Fox as two of us were celebrating birthdays. It was a mid week booking and we were looking forward to enjoying the food as the Fox is so highly recommended. The initial disappointment was to find our table in the bar area, rather than the restaurant. At first, this did not seem a big problem as the bar area is very nice, with a log fire burning nicely. The biggest problem was the door into the bar. This had a spring return on it with no dampening so every time someone went through the door it slammed! This shouldn’t have been a big problem except for a group of rowdy, middle aged men who went outside in twos for a cigarette!! Despite this, I must say we had an excellent evening and the food was absolutely top notch. We had the mixed starters with an addition and all thoroughly enjoyed it. The selected main courses were also excellent and the service and attention we received from the staff was very good. We were left to eat and relax at our own pace which was very refreshing as most restaurants these days want you in and out of the door. Prices were very reasonable and we will definitely return, hopefully to the restaurant area!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxyfun, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, We really are working hard to make the Fox Inn perfect.

Sorry about the door...and the boisterous boys.

You'll be pleased to know the door has been repaired, (but the boys still frequent the bar)
We hope to see you back soon.

Best wishes
Matt & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai I have eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Have been to the fox Inn a few times now, and I am highly pleased by the consitant good quality of the fare and excellent service, the car park is large so it is a good place to go if you fancy a drive out in your classic car on a sunday morning, which I tend to do.

T. G. Tumber, Twickenham.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Terence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxyfun, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for you review, we always appreciate repeat customers, it means we are doing the right things.
Best wishes
Matt & Team Fox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Last Supper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Having heard of the Fox and it's Thai menu only recently we decided to give it a go for our last family supper together before all heading to our various homes after christmas. This little gem of a pub is out of the way but well worth the effort to get to. We were greeted as we walked through the door and invited into the bar area to sit for a while with our drinks in front of an open fire before heading to our table. There was an excellent choice of wines and beers on offer.
The food was sublime. From the most succulent squid to the lightest of tempura battered veg, on to lamb, prawns and duck our meal it was one of the best Thai meals we have ever had. Our waitress was pleasant and bubbly. Prices were good and the portions generous Would thoroughly recommend the Fox to everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxyfun, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Mandi B,
Thank you for your review. We love to hear that we are doing things right here. The Thai chefs love hearing these reviews too and it inspires them to do even better.
I hope to see you & your family again soon
Best wishes
Matt & the Foxy team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a great time and a fantastic meal. Everyone extremely friendly and full of the festivities of the season. Would definately go back again for New Year (and any other time!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxyfun, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for your review, we all had a great time too! See you again soon.
Best wishes.
Matt & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

Hurstbourne Tarrant, Andover
 
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing