We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Station Inn

Station Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Station Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Andover B&B and Inns
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is an excellent hotel to stay in, the rooms are basic but large and very clean, the full english breakfast was of very high quality ingredients and very tasty.

The hotel bar is clean and friendly, they had music on when we were there but it could not be heard in our room.

The hotel has ample easy parking and is close to town.

The staff are efficient and polite.

A very pleasent stay with no problems.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zander710, Owner at Station Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We would like to thank this reviewer for being so factual in his review, all reviews, even the not so good one or two, helps us to get it right for our guests.
We have recently been assessed by the English Tourist assessment scheme which entails one of them booking in as a customer, staying over night and eating both Dinner and Breakfast. In the morning they announce themselves at which point we show them round the whole premises to allow them to assess every area of the business.
We are very proud to announce that we have retained our FOUR star **** Coaching Inn status with the Silver Accolade for extra effort and facilities.
We'd like to thank you to all our loyal customers and look forward to seeing you all soon.
Alex, Romana
and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
17
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leatherhead
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Atmosphere very good, room was clean and spacious. Food was very good indeed. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmodlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

i work away from home during the week, and spent some 3 months living here Monday to Friday. Bedrooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The food really is very good and freshly prepared and cooked, so rare these days to actually be able to get some of your 5 a day without paying through the nose.

The bar staff and regulars are friendly and welcoming - you won't be there long before you strike up a conversation.

I now houseshare during the week, but this place has remained my 'local' away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Staff where friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We took the opportunity to eat in the restaurant and the food was nice and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freethy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I Booked into The Station Hotel at very short notice. Asked for and were given a twin room for me and my son. Room was well furnished very clean and nice and spacious. Everything required was provided and we had a great nights sleep.
Room rate included breakfast which was very good and served hot and fresh. Parking is available in the adjoining carpark.
The pub downstairs has a great atmosphere as well. This hotel is probably one of the best in Andover town centre and I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paperboy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

could do with a chair in the room to sit on to watch TV. being picky could,nt find any marmalade with the breakfast spread But did,nt ask for any. Breakfast was nicely cooked and presented It was a bit noisey with traffic during the night Being in town and on a junction you can,t expect silence

Room Tip: All rooms nicely refurbished and looked comfortabe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r55jus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zander710, Owner at Station Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for the review. As a note, we are in the process of puting comfortable chairs in all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2011

I stayed because it was all I could find late in the evening. Clean and comfortable but basic. Shower not very powerful, breakfast badly cooked. Chef reluctant to make fried bread because it would be " bad for me"!! He then produced two slices as a side order, cooked in olive oil!!!
Don't bother unless you have to, as I did.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrp1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zander710, Owner at Station Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
I am sorry to hear you were not given the service expected of the Station Hotel. We pride ourselves on Service and Customer satisfaction I can assure you your comments have been taken seriously. Fried Bread is now on the breakfast menu (Without the Olive Oil) and the chef has been shown how to make it.
As far as the shower is concerned, the pressure is around 3.0 bar which Is above most hotel showers. We have since checked all units and they are all in full working order. I therefore cannot understand how this problem occured.

With regard to value, we are the only 4* rated Coaching Inn in the area and are consistantly thanked and praised for the standards we set and keep. We are also, to our knowledge, the Cheapest En-Suite rooms in the area.
If the reviewer would like to contact us in person we would be more than happy to discuss the problems he had.

Alex Gillies and Romana Badurova.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andover hotels
0.2 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#3 of 8 in Andover
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Andover hotel
6.4 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
650 reviews
4.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Inn

Property: Station Inn
Address: 63 Bridge Street, Andover SP10 1BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Station Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This early 19th century Coaching Inn is family run with a welcome friendly atmosphere. Our fully refurbished rooms are all en suite with drinks cooler, LCD tv, tea and coffee making facilities. A large patio and car park is to the rear. We serve excellent freshly cooked bar food with lots to choose from bagels, salads and seafood, and steaks, our station burger is a local favourite too. There is also a private restaurant area available on request (Booked in advance) for parties of 12 or more, ask for details. A large car park is to the rear and we are only 1 minute from the centre of Andover ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing