We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Carvery and amazing puddings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hen and Chicken

Hen and Chicken
Ranked #7 of 58 Restaurants in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family run 17th Century Country Pub and Carvery specialising in freshly prepared food sourced locally where possible. Breakfast served from 7.30 And food served all day until 9pm Mon - Sat 8pm Sundays. Bookings advisable. Friendly staff and a great venue for family celebrations or just meeting up with friends. Pets welcome in our bar area.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Carvery and amazing puddings”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visited this pub during a family weekend away and picked the Hen & Chicken due to the good reviews and I am pleased to say it did not disappoint. We turned up for lunch on a Friday (not having booked) and the pub was extremely busy. Luckily a table soon became available. The carvery food was lovely and fresh. The choice of puddings was amazing and very tasty. The pub is child friendly but the garden area is more suited to older children as there is no toddler equipment. The carvery was very reasonably priced and we would love to visit again if we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l_thomas81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    127
    30
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First class carvery”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Treated by my son and family to a birthday carvery meal which was first class. Could not be bettered. Only problem was that talking was difficult because of the high noise level, but we managed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hantsnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Simply scrummy.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have tried and failed to get into this fab pub/restaurant before due to it's popularity. Today, however I struck lucky for lunch. My family and I had a fabulous roast dinner at a great value price. £4.95 - kids £5.95 - adults. What made it for me was the quality and choice of the food, and the lovely friendly staff. HUGE thanks. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
360 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Wholesome English Meals at Sensible Prices”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Visited with friends for lunch and took advantage of the Carvery meal. Great Value for just under £6 a head.

The Chef carves a choice of 3 meats and on offer when we visited were Turkey, Pork and Beef and very generous slices of meat added to our large plates and id hungry the Chef would add an extra slice or two.

Then with the usual trimmings and a large selection of veggies which you help yourself to you have a plate overflowing with a hot meal.

Whilst this is not gourmet food ot offers very acceptable food and a full Menu exists of the Carvery is not wanted. They even offer daily specials for vegetarians.

Well worth a try and in these difficult economic times you will not break the bank eating here.

I have not rated for Bar Scene as this is a Pub or outdoor seating as none were seen on the day visited and it was far to cold to be outside.

Parking is easy right outside.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“sunday lunch with friends”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Visited with friends whom live in the area. There was a mixture of age groups but all tastes were catered for. The table had been previously booked and we had to wait a short time for the table to be made ready. We had someone with us whom was in a wheel chair and found that the side entrance was easily accessible. The carvery was delicious with a choice of three meats a choice of vegetables all well cooked. There was a good variety of puddings. The waitress service was also good with all requests fulfilled. All in all good value for money and it was enjoyable meal out with friends. definitely recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norfolktravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hen and Chicken also viewed

 
Alton, Hampshire
 

Been to Hen and Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing