We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My sister and I had lunch here. The food and prices were good but the bar staff needed a lesson in service. The only words spoken by the young lady who took our order were "All right" "What do you want?" "Where are you sitting?". We asked another member of staff at the bar if she could add more hot water to the the coffee as it was rather strong. She said not one word, took the cup without making eye contact, added the hot water and returned the cup, again without making eye contact or speaking. Although, it was not busy, the table had not been cleaned. Your staff are letting the hotel down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnieRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback , we will of course discuss the importance of great customer service with our Team at our next meeting …thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    151
    103
    68
    38
See reviews for
74
186
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Revisited this hotel for the second time this year - It is no more than average as a place to stay but it does have its good points. The staff are very friendly and helpful and it is very relaxing and clean and comfortable. Our room was well appointed and the bed very hard to get out of. For the purpose of our stay it was adequate and we would go back again if in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms are over the high street but are well insulated and you should not be put off by this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thatrealaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I hired the function room for my 21st birthday on Friday the 14th of September, at the cost of £150 plus another £50 to use the room for one hour after 12am. At twelve midnight people came in from the main bar, despite the fact that I had been promised exclusive use of the room. They also began to take the food meant for my guests and were rude and antagonistic, claiming they had been given the go ahead by the bar staff from the main bar to come in. I complained at the time to the staff on the bar in the function room, and later wrote a letter of complaint to the manager, expecting a partial refund or at the very least an apology. I received neither. Instead, the manageress insinuated I was lying, she made some unfounded claims and accusations to which there was proof to the contrary. Surprisingly she also stated that she would not have another 21st in the function room and it was not a party venue, a comment which I am happy to pass on to people and should be reflected on the Swan website. Based on my experiences on the 14th September and later discussions with the manageress of the Swan, I certainly could not recommend it as a function venue or even as a place to stay.This is due to the service I received and the rudeness of the manageress, which is apparently routine as it has been mentioned in many of the online reviews; neither will any of my guests or family be recommending the Swan. I would appreciate it if you could publish my review or reflect my views along with others posted by customers on the opinions section of their website.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristinaBAlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alton hotels

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Swan Hotel with our 2 year old twins, along with some other friends. We found the staff and managment to be extremely polite and helpful. Our room was spacious with an en-suite and cleaned to a very high standard each day. The food in the restaurant was wonderful; I would definitely recommend the Chicken Tikka curry! High chairs were available and the kids food was pretty good too. The staff in the restaurant were very good at managing large tables for evening meals and the Manager was ever present overseeing things and ensuring all his guests were happy. A very enjoyable stay-we would most certainly choose to stay here again in the future if in the area- Top marks to all of the staff at The Swan Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I booked the Swan hotel because I wanted the Alton area and I got a good price (£39 b&b for single ensuite) on booking.com. The hotel is right on the high street but wasn't noisy despite a front room on a Friday night. I had dinner elsewhere but breakfast was fine with a sunny room and a nice cold buffet. The full English was a bit average but no serious complaints about it. My room was warm and comfy and clean. A bit shabby in places but ok for 3star. I've posted some pictures.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekender79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The woman on the front desk was slow and rude. She had a massive queue of people and couldn't cope. She had no customer service skills.

We were told there was ample parking - not at all. We had to park up the road in a pay and display.

Room smelt awful, really musty, strong smell. Quite dirty.

Food average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

2nd time i have visited the hotel and the 2nd time wasn't has good as the 1st, one of the staff who i think was the manager was very rude! treating customers in a friendly manner should be the same in every hotel, also there is no night porter so if you need any assistance during the night you will not get any! Breakfast was dissapointing also this time round!

Overall if the manageress can treat customers with a friendly attitude instead of treating everything has a chore the hotel would be great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liam-wales87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.4 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
9.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alresford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
8.1 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
2.0 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: High Street, Alton GU34 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel Alton near Farnham and Basingstoke, is located in the Hampshire town of Alton with easy access via the A31 making it an ideal base if visiting Farnham, Aldershot, Winchester, Basingstoke. The Swan Hotel dates back to the 16th century and was a main stage on the old London-Southampton coaching route, and the Swan Hotel has been catering handsomely to passing traffic since the 16th century. Tradition has it that the poet Edmund Spenser, Sir Francis Drake, Queen Elizabeth I and the Earl of Essex all broke their journeys here. Another famous guest was Lord Nelson. Our guests include many people of sense and sensibility - that is to say, devotees of Jane Austen, who make their pilgrimage to her cottage in the Chawton, where Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice, were both written, during their stay with us. The cottage now is a popular tourist attraction and museum dedicated to Jane's life and work. Today the Swan Hotel is popular with locals and travellers alike and along with the new refurbishment is an excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing