We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
117
138
105
55
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
117
138
105
55
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday carvery function room family room breakfast room one night stay breakfast was excellent beef enjoyable stay bar and restaurant high street wedding george waitress vegetables venue starters rear
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Today the Alton House Hotel helped us celebrate the life of a great man. What was a sad situation turned out to be a great celebration of his life made all the easier by really great customer service from the hotel team.

From the day we approached the hotel to see if we could use one of their function rooms for the celebration event as there was historical connection with the man we were remembering and Alton, the team were great. Today the event was the best we hoped for, food lovely and plentiful, the staff friendly and helpful, the venue lovely and everyone had a great time reminiscing.

Thank you Alton House you all made a sad situation a lovely way to celebrate our friend.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ForestJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Stayed here for just one night on a walking holiday, were given a double room on the first floor [44] which was spacious, had a balcony and was very clean, and had the best most powerful shower ihave had for a long time. our only slight gripe was the mattress was too soft for us. the staff were all excellent and very attentative especially the barman. Breakfast was buffet style,very good and plentiful, overall a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daffydaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

We were given a room on the second floor, very warm and unable to open the window, my daughter asked initially about the window but the girl on reception immediately started looking at the rooms and moved us to the ground floor. I use a stick and hadn’t thought to ask about lifts or disable friendly rooms. The one they gave us was light and airy with french windows opening outside and a wet room.
The dining room staff were friendly and helpful, the food was lovely.
Next morning the receptionist rang us a taxi when we missed the bus !
And finally they posted me my iPad which I had left in the reception area.
The Hotel is a lovely building and beautifully decorated.

Room tip: Ask for ground floor room if you have mobility problems.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

A convenient one night stay for a friend's birthday party nearby. Nice helpful staff. We had a double plus a family room. Sadly the shower didn't work in the family room No15. Can't believe the hotel didn't know this hence the 2 star for her room but 3.5 star for our room no14. Disappointing there was no facilities for tea or coffee in the rooms. Breakfast was very accpetable but we didn't dine in so cannot comment on the restaurant. Lovely garden at the back. The car park registration thing is an issue of the times and location, but they are generous with the number of days.

Room tip: Check the shower works before accepting a room.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iquarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Our family have been there twice over July 2019. Carvery is amazing and Tasty. Generous portions serving 3 meats. Staff are friendly. Special mention about Ann who is always cheerful and smiling.

Well priced.

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews