We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hold your important party”
Review of The George

The George
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: TripAdvisor Review Nov 02, 2014: 'This is a gem of a small pub. What the owners have done is so obvious and apparently simple, that you can't but help wonder why more don't do it. Make the place homely, relaxed and inviting. Get a professional in the kitchen who knows what they are doing, has an abundance of pride and enthusiasm and wants to provide fantastic food. Put a team together who enjoy looking after customers. Source drinks that taste great, not just the run of the mill okay, that will do, but great. Set prices at a level that when the bill comes, you feel value has been delivered.'
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have eaten here many times and love the food and atmosphere so much it was first choice to hold our wedding party. Everyone worked effortlessly to give us the best night which all our guests enjoyed. The food was absolutely fantastic and the service from all the staff was wonderful.
If you are looking for somewhere to just eat out whether it is brunch/lunch or dinner the food here is fab. If you want hold that party you are planning then contact The George. If you have half a good a time as we did you will have had a fantastic time. Thank you The George!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkflower81, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hi
Thank you for your lovely review... and thank you for chosing to hold your special party at The George! What a fantastic evening.

Susannah x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 368 of 422 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were recommended to go to this pub by St Mary's B&B. It doesn't look much from the outside so we were hesitant, especially being Aussies. Our apprehension quickly disappeared with friendly service, good prices and some of the most amazing food that belongs in top quality restaurants. Well done guys. It's unusual to remember an anonymous place like this in 7 weeks of travel all over Europe, but that is what happened.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emmanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I really can’t recommend this establishment enough, we received a very friendly welcome and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and interior, wonderful array of real ales and wines and excellent menu (the pies are to die for). It's also very child friendly which is a real plus. We returned in the evening and saw a superb live act. We will continue to make a conscious effort to pop in when next in the area. Clearly a very well-run establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John_M_Ouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ate twice in this pub, lunch and dinner, whilst staying in Alton. The food was really nice and competitively priced. Pub has a good atmosphere also.

Thank MerseysideMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We held my husbands 40th birthday party at The George, Suzie and Jason are so helpful, and it is such a lovely pub for a party
We had a couple of curries (with all the trimmings) for the food and they were delicious, all our guests said how good the food was.
Suzie decorated the pub for us and it looked fab.
Can not thank you enough for such a great night, all the staff were so lovely.
This is by far the best pub in Alton

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjdjHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkflower81, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hi
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure holding your party at our pub. What a fun bunch of friends you have!! Fantastic evening.

Kind regards

Susannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

Lower Wield, Alresford
 
Bentworth, Alton
 
Alton, Hampshire
Chawton, Hampshire
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing