We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Despite other reviews thought the place was great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Horn

The French Horn
Ranked #10 of 58 Restaurants in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Despite other reviews thought the place was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Despite the other reviews on this site, we decided to have a family meal here celebrating my brother in laws birthday. What often differentiates restaurants and pubs is the service and this pub did not fall short of the mark. From the minute we turned up until we left nothing was too much trouble. The serving staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and we were offered more vegetables and Yorkshires. The food was excellent and well cooked.

If I am being critical I do understand other peoples comments about the carpet. It does need replacing but I didn't eat on the floor so it didn't detract from what was a very enjoyable occasion.

I will be back !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    58
    34
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lush food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The pub is a lovely building, the furniture fits perfectly. The cheese start was incredible, so very filling, ideal sharer. Was a little disappointed with the roast beef got told it was medium raw perfect but it came out medium to well done not the way I enjoy my beef. But super tasty. Would certainly go back again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
220 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A perfectly acceptable lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Met up with my old boss and his Wife at the French Horn as they suggested it for lunch as they live nearby. Give some of of the reviews here, I was worried, but what does a girl do - it would have been rude to suggest somewhere else wouldn't it! As it turned out I needn't have worried: everything was fine: good selection of food and Real Ales, tasty Quiche, efficient service from the staff. Nothing exceptional but certainly no cause for complaint either. The carpets throughout the pub are in dire need of replacement and it would transform the place if this was attended to because everything else is pretty tidy. It was quite busy by the time we left (Monday lunchtime) so they must be doing something right. I would certainly not rule out a return visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thehippohaslanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing Sunday Lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Haven't been here for a year and its gone downhill rapidly. Roast beef dinner small portions and cold, bland. Came away hungry! Landlady frosty. Will avoid. Shame as we live locally and this place really could be great. Needs a fresh approach and a refurb. Come on French Horn, you could do much better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela_and_Steve_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch - only clients in the restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Met up with family for Sunday lunch due to the location. We were told to book as it would be busy and might not get a table. We were the only people in the restaurant for an hour, and then 4 others came in. That was it!
The place is tired and needs refurbishment, the service was poor and the staff need basic hospitality training, and the food was over priced and over complicated for a small local pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Horn also viewed

 
Alton, Hampshire
 

Been to The French Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing