We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat your heart out Poirot”

The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mid Hants Railway, also known as the Watercress Line, operates steam and heritage diesel trains between the picturesque market towns of Alton and Alresford in Hampshire, south west of London. As well as standard travel this preserved railway runs popular special events throughout the year along with Countryman and Watercress Belle dining trains and the Real Ale Train.
Portchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eat your heart out Poirot”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Had Sunday lunch on The Watercress Line with my wife, what a fantastic experience. Although it's a set menu the food is very good and the service excellent. The train seats are very comfy, the train ride very smooth and it takes you to a Agatha Christie novel as puffs of smoke float by. Wonderful day, will do it again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveandSharon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    202
    40
    25
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Steam Train Driving, Fantastic”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Spent the day driving and stoking a steam engine, a boyhood dream.
The weather was awful, rained all day, but didn't spoil it at all.
The staff were excellent, a good helping of ham, egg and chips for lunch.
If you like steam trains then this is a must.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great day out the kids loved it”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I took my young niece and nephew to the Thomas the tank engine day and they absolutely loved it! the trains just look wonderful and there is nothing quite like being pulled along in an old fashioned steam train. I am apparently a grown up but I loved it too! a must visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A great day out with Thomas the Tank Engine”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Fun for all the family! The Watercress Line is a great steam train trip even without Thomas but the theme days really are well done. We took the train from Alton to Ropley then a short (very short - less than 5 minutes) trip on a train pulled by Thomas. The very short trip is definitely not a problem tho - it means you don't have to wait long and to be honest, as you are in the carriage, you see Thomas in all his smiley glory when he turns up, but once in the carriage, its doesn't matter that Thomas is pulling it. At Ropley, there is a an inflatable slide (3 years upwards), a tea cup ride and lots of areas for picnics or to buy hot and cold food. There's a Punch & Judy show that promises much (introduced by the Fat Controller himself!) but is wrecked by political correctness and its too long for really little ones. All the staff are wonderful and really get into character making a great day out for any Thomas fan. A shame that the face painting is at Alreseford and not at Ropley with all the other attractions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaniH0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Peep Peep”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We took our grandchildren on A Day Out with Thomas. There was plenty to do, the children loved it, and the staff were all wonderful. A great time for young children. I wish we had read the leaflet more carefully, as we did not realise how much the tickets entitled us to ! But there was plenty to see and do, even so.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_and_Ann_Reilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line also viewed

 

Been to The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing