We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real thing”

The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mid Hants Railway, also known as the Watercress Line, operates steam and heritage diesel trains between the picturesque market towns of Alton and Alresford in Hampshire, south west of London. As well as standard travel this preserved railway runs popular special events throughout the year along with Countryman and Watercress Belle dining trains and the Real Ale Train.
Selborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The real thing”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Everything about the Watercress Line, from the waiting rooms and shops to the trains and carriages and engines is the real thing. The gift shop is great and the experience is always rewarding. The bluebells in the spring are incredible along the line.

Helpful?
Thank Gwyneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    217
    43
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great day out for everyone”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have been visiting here for many years and have just started taking our two year old grandson. We all have a marvellous time as I love the history and the spendidly kept stations, my husband loves the engineering of the massive engines and my grnadson loves the steam and whistles.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We got discount vouchers through a large retailer and enjoyed a very good day out with friends and 4 small children between us. The train was not busy, but there were enough people around to make the atmosphere friendly and fun. The weather was damp and cold so the train provided an excellent all weather venue for children to enjoy. The volunteer staff were very friendly and welcoming. Excellent experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zimbotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A living recreation of a romantic past.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

There's something beautiful about steam trains in the English countryside but this attraction is about much more than that. It's a living museum that is made much more evocative and powerful by the enthusiastic men and women that give their free time to make it work whether in the office or on the platform. Maybe it's because the railways were created when Britain was at the top of her game and a truly leading force in the world and nothing embodies this more than the creation of steam powered locomotives.

The variety of stations and halts on this line also help recreate yesteryear. You can take a loved one, take a grandchild or your children but if it swarm take a picnic and just enjoy the view at one of the designated picnic areas. The views cost nothing and I am confident that you will enjoy it. I went on my own and thoroughly enjoyed it and the station staff were always helpful, proud and enthusiastic. Thanks to all the volunteers it's brilliant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nostalgic weekend”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A wonderful weekend for young & old alike you could get on & off at any of the stations along the route. We stopped off at Ropley & visited the work shops where the volunteer's work on the old engines & carriages. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line also viewed

 

Been to The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing