We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Right from my initial phone inquiry, I knew that St Mary's Hall was going to be somewhere special. Perhaps it was Joan's wonderful warmth on the phone or her friendly efficiency, but I immediately knew I was in good hands. The B&B itself is lovely: a beautiful building with its own parking. Everything is immaculate with attention paid to detail without being fussy. I stayed in the suite - a generous sized bedroom with large ensuite. Wifi was included and fast, and breakfast was delicious: cereals, yoghurt, fruit and a cooked choice. I initially booked for two nights but enjoyed them so much that I extended my stay another day. Joan is a delightful host and very helpful with reliable suggestions for local restaurants (most in walking distance), and directions to the attractions around Alton and nearby Chawton. This is how a B&B should be run!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 272 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed with Jack & Joan for one night stay to visit family and was very pleased with the accommodation. Excellent hosts that can not do enough for you. Very clean and quiet accommodation with excellent parking facilities. Breakfast was excellent and our room perfect would certainly recommend a stay at St Marys Hall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H2DAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I've been staying in B&Bs in Britain since 1988, and I can honestly say St. Mary's Hall is by far my favourite (and I've stayed in some very nice places). The building is beautifully restored, the rooms are lovely and impeccably maintained, the wifi works like a charm, and the food is superb. Everything about the place exudes good taste. As if this isn't enough, what really distinguishes St. Mary's Hall, is the atmosphere. You won't find better hosts than Joan and Jack anywhere. They go out of their way to make your visit as enjoyable as possible. Do yourself a favour and stay here.

Room Tip: For a real treat, stay in the Garden Suite if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful welcoming place to stay in Alton! Joan and Jack, the owners, are so friendly! The building itself is just beautiful and an interesting history. Breakfast is just delicious!! A little hidden gem in Alton.. And one we always recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank pinkflower81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wonderful welcome back to St Mary's Hall from Joan and Jack. We met up there with relatives from Exemouth and spent the weekend in the Tower Room where everything we needed was there, as on our previous visit, and the whole place was spotless. My wife is wheat intolerant and was catered for superbly.
From St Mary's we took a trip to Dorking where we visited Denbies wine estate and had an excellent tour of the estate including lunch in their fine resturant. After a hard day touring, eating and drinking Denbies sparkling wine we returned to the warmth and comfort of St Mary's where Joan recommended a local place for an evening meal.
A really lovely stay awaits anyone at St Mary's Hall and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

St Mary's Hall is probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Everything about it is welcoming, and the quality of the accommodation and service is outstanding. Joan is a terrific hostess and we've no hesitation in recommending it as the place to stay in Alton. In fact, I'd stay there if I needed to be anywhere within about 30 miles of the town!

The Garden Room is spacious, warm and comfortable, with soft crisp linen and a well appointed bathroom. The shower (there's no bath in this room) was efficient and powerful, and the bathroom clean and bright. Breakfast was well-presented, tasty and hearty, using quality local foodstuffs. Breakfast is eaten with the other guests around a large table, and it's a great way to meet fellow travellers. Joan is an excellent hostess, and couldn't have been more welcoming and hospitable. She is able to provide lots of helpful information and advice on local places of interest.

Location is convenient - just a couple of minutes off the A31, with private off-road parking, and with several very good restaurants and pubs serving food within 5 - 10 minutes easy walking.

When next we need a bed in North Hampshire, St Mary's Hall will be the first place on our list to call.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is the one we'd go for again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDstamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a delightful place on the side of Alton that is only 10 minutes walk to Chawton. Joan is the most welcoming, informative host you could ask for. The little Austen room is tiny but perfect for one. The Swan Hotel has a fab menu and there are several cafes on the Alton High Street that do a good coffee.

The trip from Heathrow is only 1.5 hours and hassle-free if you catch the bus/coach from Heathrow Terminal 3 to Woking. It will take 40 minutes and the bus runs directly to the Woking train station. There is a direct train to Alton that took only 40 mins. No mucking around with luggage on the Tube, plus a real saving in time and ticket costs by not travelling into London and then back out. The one ticket covers both legs of the journey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pv_3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
384 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
142 reviews
2 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
72 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#6 of 17 in Alton
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 18 Albert Road | Butts Road, Alton GU34 1LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range: $69 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Winner at the 2011-14 Beautiful South Awards. As recommended in The Times, a beautifully converted church in a quiet town location with Jane Austen's House, restaurants, pubs and transport all within easy walking distance. All rooms refurbished to a very high standard. Plus a spacious guest lounge with satellite TV/DVD player, free WiFi and fridge. Four Star accredited, plus Visit England's Silver Award. We have welcomed visitors from across the UK and from 30+ countries around the world, who visit the local attractions or stay whilst on business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Hall Hotel Alton
St Mary`s Hall b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing