We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I've been staying in B&Bs in Britain since 1988, and I can honestly say St. Mary's Hall is by far my favourite (and I've stayed in some very nice places). The building is beautifully restored, the rooms are lovely and impeccably maintained, the wifi works like a charm, and the food is superb. Everything about the place exudes good taste. As if this isn't enough, what really distinguishes St. Mary's Hall, is the atmosphere. You won't find better hosts than Joan and Jack anywhere. They go out of their way to make your visit as enjoyable as possible. Do yourself a favour and stay here.

Room Tip: For a real treat, stay in the Garden Suite if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 270 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful welcoming place to stay in Alton! Joan and Jack, the owners, are so friendly! The building itself is just beautiful and an interesting history. Breakfast is just delicious!! A little hidden gem in Alton.. And one we always recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank pinkflower81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wonderful welcome back to St Mary's Hall from Joan and Jack. We met up there with relatives from Exemouth and spent the weekend in the Tower Room where everything we needed was there, as on our previous visit, and the whole place was spotless. My wife is wheat intolerant and was catered for superbly.
From St Mary's we took a trip to Dorking where we visited Denbies wine estate and had an excellent tour of the estate including lunch in their fine resturant. After a hard day touring, eating and drinking Denbies sparkling wine we returned to the warmth and comfort of St Mary's where Joan recommended a local place for an evening meal.
A really lovely stay awaits anyone at St Mary's Hall and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

St Mary's Hall is probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Everything about it is welcoming, and the quality of the accommodation and service is outstanding. Joan is a terrific hostess and we've no hesitation in recommending it as the place to stay in Alton. In fact, I'd stay there if I needed to be anywhere within about 30 miles of the town!

The Garden Room is spacious, warm and comfortable, with soft crisp linen and a well appointed bathroom. The shower (there's no bath in this room) was efficient and powerful, and the bathroom clean and bright. Breakfast was well-presented, tasty and hearty, using quality local foodstuffs. Breakfast is eaten with the other guests around a large table, and it's a great way to meet fellow travellers. Joan is an excellent hostess, and couldn't have been more welcoming and hospitable. She is able to provide lots of helpful information and advice on local places of interest.

Location is convenient - just a couple of minutes off the A31, with private off-road parking, and with several very good restaurants and pubs serving food within 5 - 10 minutes easy walking.

When next we need a bed in North Hampshire, St Mary's Hall will be the first place on our list to call.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is the one we'd go for again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDstamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a delightful place on the side of Alton that is only 10 minutes walk to Chawton. Joan is the most welcoming, informative host you could ask for. The little Austen room is tiny but perfect for one. The Swan Hotel has a fab menu and there are several cafes on the Alton High Street that do a good coffee.

The trip from Heathrow is only 1.5 hours and hassle-free if you catch the bus/coach from Heathrow Terminal 3 to Woking. It will take 40 minutes and the bus runs directly to the Woking train station. There is a direct train to Alton that took only 40 mins. No mucking around with luggage on the Tube, plus a real saving in time and ticket costs by not travelling into London and then back out. The one ticket covers both legs of the journey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pv_3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night only in the Garden suite. It was a large room and the most impressive bathroom I've ever seen and experienced.Attention to detail was evident. Hosts are uber-friendly and helpful and make a great breakfast. The pub they recommended for dinner had some of the best food we experienced on our trip. Good off street parking. My only problem, and I really hate to say it because I know they spent a lot of money on the beds, was that we felt they were far too soft. We both had a poor night's sleep, (sorry we lied) but then some people like a soft bed. If you are staying in or near Alton, then this place is a great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We originally wanted to stay in Chawton, but the b&b didnt have enough room for us, which turned out to be a blessing. From the moment we arrived Joan the owner, could not have been a better hostess and breakfast delicious. 2 of us stayed in the Garden suite, which was a private space just across from the house. It was super spotless, tastefully decorated, with a big sized bathroom and king sized bed. We also had a fridge, which on the first night did wake me up, but a flick of a switch soon sorted that out. The location was fab. We were in walking distance of Alton town centre, Chawton village and a hop, skip and bus stop away from Winchester. This is definitely on my list to re-visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
489 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
139 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#5 of 17 in Alton
269 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 18 Albert Road | Butts Road, Alton GU34 1LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range: $67 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Winner at the 2011-14 Beautiful South Awards. As recommended in The Times, a beautifully converted church in a quiet town location with Jane Austen's House, restaurants, pubs and transport all within easy walking distance. All rooms refurbished to a very high standard. Plus a spacious guest lounge with satellite TV/DVD player, free WiFi and fridge. Four Star accredited, plus Visit England's Silver Award. We have welcomed visitors from across the UK and from 30+ countries around the world, who visit the local attractions or stay whilst on business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Hall Hotel Alton
St Mary`s Hall b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing