We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

All the basics are done brilliantly: clean, comfortable, quiet, convenient for Jane Austen enthusiasts who want to see Chawton, superb breakfasts with locally-sourced foods, and a lovely private patio that gets the afternoon sun. The Garden Suite is very private, spacious, and with an amazing bathroom and ingenious shower. Best of all, Joan Mossop is a wonderfully warm, helpful host. Note that the bathroom for the Knight room is across the hall and that sound insulation from the Tower Room (above) is not 100 percent!

Room Tip: Go for the Garden Suite or (I suspect, but haven't seen it) the Tower Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
101
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem. I stayed here with my husband, three children under 6 years and my in-laws. The rooms were spotlessly clean to the point the bathtoom looked brand new and i walked in bare feet straight away. So much thought has gone into guest comfort and everything you could think of was there, including an excellent hair dryer, fridge, bottle opener and glasses and so much more. Even if you needed something else I am sure the owners Joan and jack would accommodate. Their welcome was genuine and I felt at home. This place is great for families as there is a nice little garden. The breakfast was lovely and again the children were catered for. I would defininately return. 10 mins walk into Alton where there are many restaurants. Excellent stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at St Mary's from 5 August for 3 nights, first in the Garden Suite and then were lucky enough to be to stay an additional night here and Joan very kindly accommodated us in the Tower Room as the Garden Suite was booked that night. Both accommodations were excellent! Breakfast was lovely too. Joan & Jack are great hosts and we did feel as if we were leaving behind new friends at the end of our stay. We will definitely stay again when in the area. Lynda & Chris

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn6663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a fleeting visit here but we were not disappointed. I would strongly recommend this B&B to friends. It's top end, very comfortable, clean and current. The hosts take a huge pride in their home and it shows. They are warm and welcoming. Breakfast was first class - smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, served at a massive beautifully laid out dinning room table.

Unfortunately I didn't get time to look too closely at the building itself but an old tastefully restored nunnery with oak beams every where, open plan and just felt so homely. We slept in the tower - novel and certainly an experience worth trying.

We will certainly stay here again......

Room Tip: Softness of mattress is worth checking. Although I slept like a baby my wife felt the bed in the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at St. Mary's Hall during our recent Jane Austen tour of England, and we can't say enough nice things about the room, location, and owner. We stayed in the Knight room, which offered two comfortable twin beds, tasteful decor and a great bathroom just across the hall. There was also a lovely sitting room, and an outdoor seating area in the garden that we very much enjoyed. St. Mary's is conveniently located in the town of Alton, and was a pleasant 20 minute walk to the Jane Austen House Museum in Chawton, with easy bus service to Winchester, and train service to London. There are nice shops and pubs within easy walking distance as well. And the owner Joan was just as nice and helpful as could be - suggesting dinner choices, shoe stores in Winchester for tired feet, and even giving us a ride to the Chawton House Library when we were running late! Delicious breakfast too - smoked salmon - yum!

Room Tip: The Knight room offers affordable twin bed accomodations for two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The place is amazing! The oldy-worldy atmosphere is preserved (used to be a church), but the rooms and baths are completely up to modern smarts and then some. Bathrooms are not just en suite, but separate rooms and outfitted beautifully. Breakfast offerings are myriad, gargantuan and uniformly delicious. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining room in the old part of the building. The best part of the place, however, is Joan and Jack themselves, the most welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful hosts one could find. They rushed out to meet us when we arrived, knew all our names, and Joan brought us in immediately for proper tea and cakes while Jack humped the luggage into our rooms. Throughout our stay we were offered accoutrements and services we hadn't even known we wanted. We have made new friends in Joan and Jack and will look forward to staying at St. Mary's Hall every time we come back to Alton.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Knight", which was lovely, and bathroom is terrific. Our pals stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godfrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We come here each year. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Alton. We are treated like family. Friendliness, cleanliness and happiness! Lovely hosts and lovely breakfasts. Clean and stylish rooms. Thanks Joan and Jack. See you next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IonaBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.4 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#5 of 16 in Alton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Albert Road | Butts Road, Alton GU34 1LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Winner at the 2011-14 Beautiful South Awards. As recommended in The Times, a beautifully converted church in a quiet town location with Jane Austen's House, restaurants, pubs and transport all within easy walking distance. All rooms refurbished to a very high standard. Plus a spacious guest lounge with satellite TV/DVD player, free WiFi and fridge. Four Star accredited, plus Visit England's Silver Award. We have welcomed visitors from across the UK and from 30+ countries around the world, who visit the local attractions or stay whilst on business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Hall b&b
St Mary`s Hall Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing