We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful clean rooms, convenient location, superb service, friendly welcome. Gorgeous garden. Breakfasts are delicious! Jack&Joan are fantastic hosts.. And we would certainly recommend staying at St Marys Hall!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkflower81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We wanted to visit Chawton Cottage, Chawton House and Gilbert White's house at nearby Selborne, as well as Winchester Cathedral. St Mary's Hall proved ideally placed for such a visit, and Joan very thoughtfully and helpfully telephoned after our first enquiry to alert us to the restricted winter opening hours at Chawton Cottage so that we could shift our proposed booking accordingly. She and Jack gave us lots of good advice, including the recommendation of an excellent restaurant in Winchester and of an excellent coffee and cake shop in Alton, and altogether this was a very enjoyable and successful stay in an absolutely first class B&B. We would recommend it unreservedly for anyone looking for accommodation in this beautiful part of Hampshire.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden Suite, which is separate from the main house and somewhat larger than the othe...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

On arriving we were greeted warmly and helped in with our bags, nothing was too much trouble for our two night stay, the house was great,the beds were big and the breakfast was tasty ,thanks too Joan and Jack for looking after us, if you are in this area do not hesitate too stay here, a wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: book early
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a very welcoming and fantastic B&B run by Joan & Jack. I love there welcoming manner, to there fantasic B&B. The communication for our visit was excellent, help my wife arrange our visit. Good recommendations on places to visit. we Had the tower room, fab... relaxing, silent, peaceful ( great for a really good rest, from our mad lives )... My wife and I love all the little extras, could of stay longer!!! will come back one day... Breakfast was fresh and welcoming and what was very special getting other guest to talk, fab for my wife she loved it so did I.

Very Big thank Joan & Jack

From

Chris & Heidi Bush :-)

Room Tip: I highly recommend " The George" Great food, great location....
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

After arriving from a long day traveling from Cyprus I was received with a very warm welcome at st Marys hall. I was very impressed this B&B, it was absolutely spotless. The room was very spacious with a fantastic bathroom. Joan and Jack were fabulous hosts and it was like being home from home. Would most definitely go back to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a fantastic B&B and Joan and Jack are the most welcoming hosts ever. Having arrived from a long haul flight from Australia, we had four nights here with Joan looking after us brilliantly. Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfasts were wonderful, and the rooms were beautiful and have everything you need. We had the tower room, with our children downstairs sharing a large twin room, it was all so comfortable and we felt so at home, that we hardly had jet lag at all! Jane Austen's house is within walking distance, we spent a day in Winchester, went to Portsmouth's Historic Dockyards, and then to the Harry Potter studios. Another highlight for us was the Jane Austen day tour with Phil Howe - a must for any Austen fans, and a moving and memorable day. The area is lovely and Joan and Jack recommended fantastic spots for dinner all nearby. The Bell pub was particularly beautiful, a really lovely meal. We have stayed with Joan and Jack twice now and can't bear the though of not returning again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ella_carey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I recently booked this B&B after looking for accommodation for the weekend commencing 14th December 2012. After viewing the local hotels and not being very impressed, I looked at the B&B's in the area and saw St Marys.

What a good decision this was. Joan was a warm, friendly host and a great cook. The rooms were spotless and could not fault it at all.

We will certainly all be using St Marys for all our family stays in future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
369 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
2.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
137 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#1 of 1 in Holybourne
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 18 Albert Road | Butts Road, Alton GU34 1LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range: $68 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Winner at the 2011-14 Beautiful South Awards. As recommended in The Times, a beautifully converted church in a quiet town location with Jane Austen's House, restaurants, pubs and transport all within easy walking distance. All rooms refurbished to a very high standard. Plus a spacious guest lounge with satellite TV/DVD player, free WiFi and fridge. Four Star accredited, plus Visit England's Silver Award. We have welcomed visitors from across the UK and from 30+ countries around the world, who visit the local attractions or stay whilst on business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Hall Hotel Alton
St Mary`s Hall b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing