We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun day for all the family”
Review of Aldershot Lido

Aldershot Lido
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Aldershot
Attraction details
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fun day for all the family”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A Great place that has everything you need for a family day out. The kids loved it and wanted to spend every day there. Be prepared for loads of kids shouting and laughing all day

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    36
    8
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great and affordable family fun”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Aldershot Lido is a great day out for families with children of all ages. My Daughter and Son are 8 and 5, we didn't have any issues with the slides, but I had prewarned the children of the age limit! The water is cold, but wouldn't expect anything else. We took a picnic and spent the whole day there, swimming, playing games, and playing in the sand pit! The weather was fabulous, and the staff were very alert and on the ball! The cost was tiny for the day, we arrived early, and stayed until the evening, am not sure what else you could do with 1 adult and 2 children for £11.80 for the entire day (including parking, as this is also free)?

The downside is, people sadly don't seem to use the bins provided, as with all things, a lack of respect for the environment, and surroundings is imminent here. As a result, toward the end of the day, the pool does end up looking a little grubby, but this is not the fault of the facility, or staff, more those that use and abuse the facility itself.

I would also love for the lido to get some money injected into it. The pool and slides could do with some repair work, and is in need of an update, but am quite sure that given the last few summers we've had, they probably can't afford it - maybe a grant from somewhere may be possible?

I truly feel we are very lucky to have such a fab facility in our area, and if only those that used if (and others) were more respectful, it would be a cleaner environment too!

My advice, take a picnic, and some games to play (both in the water and out of it), get there early, and be prepared to queue. Be aware of the rules before you arrive by checking the website, to avoid childrens disappointment. Those with children under 8, be prepared to have to watch/stay with your children, the lido and is staff are not a childcare facility. Clear up after yourself, and ensure you use the bins provided!

And finally, use the facility! If we don't, it'll be gone! So let's use our local amenities, and try to keep them thriving and clean!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SWH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great if you want to enjoy the sun but not drive to the coast”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Aldershot Lido is a fabulous day out. Pack for the day. There are place to buy snacks and ices, but can be expensive especially if you take the family so take a picnic. There is plenty of room to set up camp on the lawns. It can get very busy and it is a big place to be prepared to chase the kids around if there are young. There are life guards which is an advantage over most of the coast. The water is not heated and on a day where the weather is not really hot it can be too cold! A great day out for families and groups of friend alike. Enjoy :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Lovely facility if weathers good”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a great day. The lifeguards are strict and more like minders/bouncers than actual life guards. The shallow bit is massive and our 3 year old had a ball although we had to be in the pool with him even though he could stand and we were a few meters away. You have to be over 8 to use the slides but we just told our 6 year old to lie as she is tall and swims well. She had a ball and the 'lifeguards' were clueless. I do agree with others that the age cut off is arbitrary and clearly not enforceable. They should rather do it by height. Apart from the officousness it is nice and reminded me of being life in the 50's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“inbetweeners”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Visited the lido today with an 8 year old and a 6 year old. Not a good idea as the 6 year old was very restricted despite being an excellent swimmer. No access for him to slides or the diving board. Caused much disappointment. No account is taken of ability. The age cut off seems arbitary. Also no hot dogs available in the cafe. Will probably go again next year when he can blag the age when it will be a better value day out. On the downside this type of weather may not come around for a few more years!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gb640_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldershot Lido also viewed

 

Been to Aldershot Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing