We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time was my last time”
Review of Pond Quay - CLOSED

Pond Quay
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Doha, Qa
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Second time was my last time”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Always a mistake in the order. A really bad chinese cuisine. Food is too greasy, more than you can imagine a deep fried to be!

Helpful?
1 Thank ammn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    11
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Early Evening Buffet”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Decided to try here before seeing a show at the Lowry. We were offered the Buffet or the A La Carte and as the Buffet food was due to be put out in 5 mins we decided to go for that. It wasn't the largest Buffet in the world but there was a choice of 3 soups then about 6 starters and most important for us - duck with pancakes! Again, there were about 6 main courses with a fresh supply of rice, noodles, prawn crackers etc. The staff were regularly stirring and checking the food and refilling as required. Desserts were better than most Chinese - fritters, profiteroles, tiramasu, trifle and cornflake cakes! The only thing missing for me was ice cream. All in all, the food was fresh, tasty and of course plentiful! Staff were efficient and friendly. Price for 3 people for Buffet with 3 beers and 5 cokes was £54 which I think is good value. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Poor food and incompetent service”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

What an awful name for a restaurant for a start. "Pond quay" - enough to put you off without going in! I wish I had been put off, actually.

I don't think I've ever had such downright awful service as here! The waiters barely speak English and are almost unintelligible. One clearly did not understand our orders which led to mistakes with the food brought. Then they completely forgot who ordered what, and it was all plonked down in front of the wrong person. Some items had been forgotten and so some people had to continue to wait for theirs while others were eating. At the end of the meal it was impossible to attract attention to order coffee, so we didn't. Meanwhile one waitress was chucking cutlery around continually by the buffet, which really added to the classy atmosphere, as you can imagine. What a joke. It was actually funny at times - the service was almost like a Chinese version of Fawlty Towers!

The buffet was small and uninspiring. You get much better ones in Chinatown. The odd thing in it was ok but most of it, bland and definitely poor quality. The chicken they used was that horrible, rubbery, water-filled rubbish. Sauces were watery and lacked flavour.

The general atmosphere was rather downmarket and even in the Lowry there are much better restaurants. If you like Chinese, go to Chinatown instead. You will get much more for your money and it will be more authentic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Buffet”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Have eaten at this restaurant many times and keep coming back if at The Lowry.
My only experience is at the lunchtime buffet [12 - 3pm] which now costs £7.50 - but beware of the cost of drinks, I keep to Tea or a free glass of water.
The restaurant is quite large with over 50 tables. You are greeted and seated with cordiality, children are welcomed. The lunchtime buffet doesn't seem as busy as in previous visits, can't see that anything has changed, but from other reviews maybe the standard varies. I've never had any problems.
As usual the buffet offered excellent choice. I am vegetarian and always eat well.
The soups are very tasty and can be followed with a host of starters including spare ribs and crispy duck pancakes which my grand children find delicious.
There were varieties of rice and noodles. The nine Main courses were varied and all sampled had excellent flavour. The staff are constantly refreshing them so they don't get jaded.
I find that the eating can be as relaxed as you wish, enabling one to sample all the flavours in a sensible way. This is the essence of buffet dining, not the pile everything on your plate that some people do. Good for children to get to discover and enjoy different flavours without pressure.
The staff are in the back ground but constantly clearing unwanted plates.
If you are not in a hurry and are still hungry there is an excellent sweet selection -fruit salad, trifle, lychees, banana fritters, profiteroles, tiramisu etc.
So I still think this a is a great place for a good value reasonable Chinese buffet if you are visiting The Lowry, IWM or just shopping.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very clean, nice food.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very clean toilets says everything, clean toilets clean food!! Staff extremely polite. Dose not look like it is Chinese or Cantonese but the food is authentic, very nice!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KenSlamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pond Quay also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing