We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks faceless but isn't”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Damson Restaurant

Damson Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 318 Restaurants in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Looks faceless but isn't”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I'm not keen on restaurants that look like they're in an office building, but if you want to be in the heart of MediaCity you have little choice. Once you're past the entrance the place makes up for it's exterior and is a lovely space - enough room between tables (many of which benefit from a window position) and with views over the waterways of the development. Works for me.
We were in for a quick lunch, and the food hit the spot, the service was excellent, and the whole experience was very pleasant indeed.
Worth a visit if you're in MediaCity.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boriseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    129
    60
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely food and attentive service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We ate the Damson before a comedy show at the Lowry. Having taken a brief look at the very expensive full menu we decided on the pre 6.30 set menu, which at £20 per head was good value. Compared to the food the wine was actually pretty reasonably priced.

The food was all extremely tasty, if a little small and the service was attentive, if at times a little pretentious.

I'm sure we would return.

Helpful?
Thank happyhouseManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Solitary Diners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We visited on a Saturday lunchtime prior to going to the Lowry, to see La Boheme actually, and we were the only people eating.
The food was excellent with the goats cheese fritters fantastic (only problem I could have eaten another couple - greedy guts) and husbands chicken liver parfit tasted just as good. We both selected 2 courses from the £16.99 and were not at all disappointed, excellent value in a great location just cannot understand why it was so quiet as Media city was very busy.
Staff were friendly and helpful but it is rather awkward for them with only two customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pam_summers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food fantastic service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We are on the tram on the way back from Media City and couldn't wait to get home to write a review we were so impressed.
Didn't think any restaurant could match Damson in Heaton Moor but Damson Media City blew us away. The same high quality food, excellent service and attention to detail but Media City wins due to impressive views and general 'buzz' in the restaurant.
For anyone visiting Manchester it's well worth the 10 minute journey. Plus you can star spot here, naturally ladies who dine never tell tales who who they spotted dining with who!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trusther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our fifth visit to the Damson and we were looking to restore a bit of faith in the restaurant after a really disappointing meal on 2nd January this year when we invited friends across for a 40th birthday celebration.

On that occasion the service was totally lacklustre and our waiter showed no interest whatsoever. In addition the set course had a number of choices unavailable so we had no option but to choose dishes we wouldn't normally select and in turn the meal turned out to be very average.

We put all this down to the restaurant suffering from a New Years hangover but it still spoiled what should have been a memorable occasion.

Having received impeccable service on all our other visits and some wonderful food we decided we would give it another go and without question normal service has resumed.

Our visit was the Tuesday after the Spring Bank holiday so the restaurant was nice and quiet and our waiter was very attentive the total opposite of our previous experience.

The set menu had plenty of choice and the 5 different courses we picked between us were all superb. I note a few comments recently regarding small portion sizes but we had no complaints and we left feeling suitably fed.

Overall a fantastic meal and when its on top form the Damson is definitely one of the best restaurants in Manchester - we will be back in January to celebrate the 41st!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLMinskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damson Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Damson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing